Poets logo

Fucking Badgers

For Mackenzie Davies' "I'd Read Your Grocery List" challenge

By Hannah MoorePublished 7 months ago 1 min read
17
Fucking Badgers
Photo by Robert Hoffmann on Unsplash

24th March

Pansies/Petunias, if in stock

Some little growing pots would rock,

Runner beans and tomato seed,

Pumpkins? Sunflowers?

Growing feed.

*

30th March

Pansies/Petunias if in they’re in,

Thin gardening gloves to save my skin,

Top soil for that little hole,

Twine, pref. green.

Bamboo pole.

*

4th April

Pansies/Petunias if they’ve got them,

If not, get tulips, pink, with long stem.

More top soil, another sack,

Those gardening gloves?

Take them back.

*

15th April

Another bag of soil or two,

If in doubt, three should do.

Lion dung, in pellet form.

Grass seed, tough, or

Fast grow lawn.

*

24th April

Something cheerful for the bottom border,

If nothing’s in I’ll have to order.

Top soil, get the cheapest price,

If on offer,

Six is nice.

*

8th May

Have a look at sonar devices,

Or maybe something that entices,

Find the biggest humane trap.

If not, then more

Lion crap.

*

12th May

One bag of concrete, ready to mix.

Bucket, cheap stirrer, both your picks.

Soil, for once we’ve done the deed,

Another box

Fast grass seed.

*

24th May

Paving slabs, maybe a dozen or two?

Outdoor pots - Mediterranean blue.

Flowers - think strong, bright and bold,

Geranium

Or marigold.

*

18th June

A dog bowl and some hanging baskets,

Brackets, liners. Fucking bastards.

Compost, just one bag we need,

If they have it,

Badger feed.

*

Authors note: This does not, I know, fully match the brief. Obviously this is not a list for the grocery store, but for a garden centre type establishment. But I would argue I have written plenty of lists for my partner that look like this - with little explanatory notes to help him get the right thing, or additions just because I like to communicate with him.

list
17

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Haha. This is great. I could feel your frustration grow, until you finally have time give in to your fate.

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    Love it! Badgers have provided some of the most exciting moments in my hunting trips over the years.

  • Tiffany Gordon 7 months ago

    Awesome job Hannah!

  • Rachel Deeming7 months ago

    Ah, badgers. The lumbering brutes that wreck all your best laid borders. Blooming cute though. I do love the way they move about. This was great, so funny.

  • Mackenzie Davis7 months ago

    Omg this is brilliant, Hannah! The resignation at the end, "badger feed" made me laugh out loud, but then, I was laughing throughout reading this. Great entry! I read it twice and appreciated it differently both times, first for the humor and the rhymes & repetitions, then for the arc and technical greatness. Ohhh, judging this challenge will be tough ;)

  • Paul Stewart7 months ago

    This had me laughing quite a lot. I did one that included stuff that came from hardware stores etc. so I say it counts! Also, hilarious. The minute I saw the title I was already thinking where it might go haha. I loved the repeated bits and just how annoyed you get through each list...it's very clever, Hannah! Also...that last comment of your author's notes....just made me laugh even more haha!

  • Gosh I love the format of this poem! The first line rhymes with the second. The third line rhymes with the fifth. May I know the name of this format? Also, I feel that it fits the criteria for this challenge. And do they really have lion poop?

  • D. J. Reddall7 months ago

    A complete and nuanced narrative in fragments. Artfully done: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gx6TBrfCW54

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    Love the garden, grocery is grocery, no matter for what.

  • Andrei Z.7 months ago

    Interesting. I didn't know about the application and applicability of lion manure for gardening. I wonder if it would have scared off my old cat (may he rest in peace) from stealing cucumbers.

  • Test7 months ago

    No arguments over here- this is bloody outstanding! Being on t he 8th floor, I still see badgers as cute but I can't imagine thay're too endearing when you have a garden! 🤍

  • Caroline Jane7 months ago

    Fabulous. We get badgers. It took an ages to figure out what was going on. Kept getting all these divots in the front garden. They are cute but they don't care about a lawn. 😂 You should send this into Gardeners world. It's really good!!! (The title would be a scream if they went with it. That said.. I'd buy a copy instantly!!! 🤣)

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    This is freaking great. Love this

  • Gerald Holmes7 months ago

    Love the title and love the poem. Fucking excellent!!

  • JBaz7 months ago

    I think it fits the request. A shopping list of sorts, and you had a very good reason This was funny, but I’m sure it was a pain for you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.