Poets logo

Deciduous

A retrospective note

By Hannah MoorePublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read

I wanted to write a poem today.

Something shifted, yesterday, and I felt deep in my gut,

That stirring. That could be excitement,

Or imminent diarrhoea,

Or arousal,

But is definitely movement. Change.

And I wanted to write a poem, but instead I tidied up

And I ate lunch, and I did the laundry,

And then, when I could have written a poem,

I went outside, and walked between the drowsy trees,

Layers of warm, brown beneath my feet,

A cocoon of gold about me,

A shedding of a million tiny engines that whirred and worked to keep the whole alive

Until the earth tilted, and the light grew sparse

And the work became a burden too great to carry,

And the trees let go of past endeavours,

Preserving themselves for another spring, another tilt, a warmer light.

I wanted to write a poem today,

But I walked within the world and felt it speak to me,

In falling whispers,

And I recognised it was my time to be quiet.

Authors note: I know. I wrote a poem about wanting to write a poem but not writing a poem, only I did write the poem. Which is confusing, but I didnt write this poem yesterday, which is the today in the narrative, which I inhabited from today, which would have been tomorrow in the narrative. You see?

Yesterday I woke up to a brief break in employment - I finished one, gruelling job, after a frantic finishing period, particularly in these last few days as the storm blew through outside my window. I will take up another in a week's time, with new learning and new challenges, and the same, expensive skills. I say expensive not because they pay me a lot, they do not, but because my work costs me a lot, its challenging work. I left myself this pause between and found it hard to justify why, though no one questioned it. My instinct, when asked, was to talk about all the doing I planned to do in this interlude. but there is a lesson, always, in nature, no?

nature poetry

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (12)

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    I am quite dizzy from reading this. Begs for a reread. I know the feeling, when you just have to drop everything and do the opposite of that which you want to do. This was a lovely merry-go-round of emotions. Now I have stories dancing around in my head.

  • Lol, your Author's Notes had my head spinning! Loved your poem! And to answer your question, yessss!!!

  • This is one of those poems that sneaks up on you with how brilliant it is. I can't tell you how many times I've taken this journey, well except I didn't write an outstanding poem about it.

  • The author's note is as intriguing as the poem itself. Excellent work Hannah!!!

  • JBaz8 months ago

    It suck’s when work interferes with life. 😉 I am with you, and a, glad you are taking a break.

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Oh just lovely 😊

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    This is stunning, Hannah. Seriously. I don't care that you wrote a poem about not writing a poem, if it's this good and we all have those moments. I also deeply felt this part, with these poetically masterful words: "Something shifted, yesterday, and I felt deep in my gut, That stirring. That could be excitement, Or imminent diarrhoea, Or arousal, But is definitely movement. Change." I lolled, but also understood these words :) Well done, Hannah!

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    Always. I love the fact that you didn't write a poem. Great result. I was with you there walking. Good old Autumn.

  • Lol, yes 👍 I get ya😉♥️📝✌️🍂

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    I'm confused, but in a good way. That last question? Yes, always! Loved this one!

  • Test8 months ago

    Beautiflly written x I love the gentle reverence you give to nature and the way you captured the luling into winter so well 🤍 Perfect x

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    💚

Hannah MooreWritten by Hannah Moore

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.