Poets logo

Popcorn

kernels of comfort

By Brin J.Published 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
13
*Unsplash* georgia-vagim

The scent of freshly popped kernels fills the air,

triggering a Pavlovian response that makes my mouth water.

It's a familiar and comforting smell, offering a momentary respite

reminding me of my childhood, when life wasn't so consuming.

Soothing as it may be, it's an ineffectual meal.

I could eat an entire bag in just one sitting,

and it would still not be enough

to sate this profound yawing hunger within me

with an appetite the size of the moon

craving the days where my only worries were the figment monsters under my bed

Now, the monsters live inside my head,

demanding to be fed.

My reliance on the salty snack as a source of comfort goes beyond mere fulfillment

It's a ritual that I've come to depend on, like a drug.

A temporary escape from the harsh realities of this world.

It's a coping mechanism that I've developed to deal with the deep-seasonal burdens of adulthood.

I am aware that the satisfaction I seek won't be found at the bottom of the bowl.

And yet, it is the one thing I always have in my pantry,

to imitate my childhood bliss

So as I take a bite, feeling the popcorn melting on my tongue,

It isn't just butter that I taste, but my own relief.

Like a release of tension in my soul.

Some may say the popcorn only provides a temporary reprieve,

I know.

I know it is only an interim solution to the underlying problem.

Still, I continue to reach for the bag,

inhaling a deep breath and letting the steam fill my lungs.

If this self-indulgence is considered a vice, then I'm a confirmed addict.

And I need my fix.

Lest I go into withdrawal and lose my only sense of peace.

Mental Health
13

About the Creator

Brin J.

I have a few stories and poems inside me that I want to share. Maybe, if I'm lucky, they'll reach people who'll enjoy them. 📖

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Lindsay Sfara2 months ago

    YUM. Popcorn is one of my favorite snacks too. What a great poem that displays how a treat can be more than just a snack.

  • I can smell the popcorn just by reading your poem! If you're a popcorn addict, then I'm a potato chips addict hehehee. Loved your poem!

  • It's my main reason for wanting to go to the movie theater. I can't smell it the way I used to, but I can still taste & enjoy it.

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    Great blend of nostalgia and contemporary woe!

  • Apurba Deb2 months ago

    So Creative! A Fantastic poem.

  • Joe O’Connor2 months ago

    Brilliant read, and you use language cleverly to create this wistful yet satisfied tone. “craving the days where my only worries were the figment monsters under my bed” shows how far from childhood you are now, and popcorn is relatable enough for the reader to picture it instantly. Nicely done Brin🙂

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Loved popcorn too!!! Miss that salty snack!!!

  • Mark Graham2 months ago

    Popcorn is one of my favorite snacks as well. Your piece lets me see popcorn in a new light in a way.

  • I love popcorn. Once upon a time at a younger age, I went on a popcorn diet. I was literally in heaven with popcorn for every meal.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.