Poets logo

Alive

Are you really?

By Abbey NessPublished 19 days ago 1 min read
1

I wonder pretty often, if I lived today at all

Having little recollection, I cannot say for sure.

I was funny once...

But that's a borrowed joke.

My mug's still in the microwave!

Ugh, cold again. Better warm it up.

It's scares me just a little, if I think on it too much.

How many days I haven't noticed,

Full of this and that and such and such.

Days that could have mattered,

So much I could have said.

Have I lived at all today?

Or just avoided being dead?

I was Alive today. I'm sure of it this time.

I realized between giggles with a sweet friend over wine.

This is what it's like...

It's sharing tandem times.

It's conquering laundry mountains.

And long calls over Skype.

Laughing till we gasp for air,

With stitches in our sides.

Sharing little things, far off dreams,

And all that's on our minds...

It's cradling the scattered pieces,

When there's nothing left to say.

Leaving space for grief, and loss,

As long as they may stay.

Being Alive means loving.

Risking. Reaching. Chasing.

To do more than just existing,

Even when it seems so easy.

It's most often inconvenient,

And utterly consuming.

Demanding that you stretch and break,

To make room for what is coming.

It's worth it though, to spend your life,

On risky love and living free.

Because life beats death a million to one,

And Love outstrips eternity.

social commentaryperformance poetryinspirational
1

About the Creator

Abbey Ness

Recipe for Pondering:

Hot Drink, optional

Honesty (just between you and me)

A cat demanding attention at every moment of her waking life... No Substitutes...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani19 days ago

    This is a very sweet and uplifting poem. Nice work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.