Poets logo

Poker Face

A Poem

By Smaranda DomosaruPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
Like

Poker Face.

I joke I’m bad at poker,

And say my face gives me away.

But really, if I’m being sober,

It’s just what I portray.

After all, my face stays steady,

Even as my heart gets heavy,

Reading what you have to say,

About another you love today.

*

Small Blind

Big Blind

Who’s first to play?

*

See, I too, have tricks at bay.

Yes, indeed, tricks up my sleeve,

Keeping me from being naïve.

So, let’s see who came to bluff,

And who’s first to say enough.

Don’t say “Check”, it’s too revealing.

Antics are the best when dealing.

*

I hope my laughter hides jealousy.

And please love, raise my bets on Apathy.

My hand is empty, it’s best I leave.

Surely, it’s not so easy you believe.

*

Because, right now, to place a call,

Means, undoubtedly, I must have it all.

*

I have it all, the worst of all,

A Ten,

A Jack,

A Queen,

A King,

And an Ace of hearts.

Yes, indeed, these are my cards.

*

A Royal Pain in the arse.

*

Many say I should have played,

But I simply couldn’t have stayed.

*

Winning

has more at stake

than losing.

*

It’s a chance I cannot take.

*

Too afraid

To glimpse your hand.

I fold my cards, please understand.

*

Hate to be one with a joker.

Though, you should know by now,

*

I’m bad at poker.

*

Smaranda Domosaru

artlove poemshumorheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Smaranda Domosaru

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.