Poets logo

Pink

A poem about embracing my femininity

By Kelsey ClareyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in After the Parade Challenge
13
Pink
Photo by Pawel Czerwinski on Unsplash

Pink:

The colour of femininity. One that we are taught to feel

we need to denounce as we grow up. Because to be

feminine is to be weak, to be lesser, to be outdated.

Because in our quest for liberation, we’ve been told

we need to emasculate ourselves. Somewhere along

the way, dismantling the patriarchy came to mean

conforming to it.

So I put on my lacy pink dress and pin my hair up

with delicate bows and ribbons. I paint my face in

soft, rosy tones. I walk around my house singing

the songs of my childhood princesses. I embrace

the femininity I was told to suppress, no longer

afraid to be called a “girly girl” as if that were an

insult. This is my defiance. This is my freedom.

social commentary
13

About the Creator

Kelsey Clarey

She/Her/Fae/Faer. I live in Nova Scotia, Canada. I mostly write poetry and flash fiction currently, a lot of it fantasy/folklore/fairy tale inspired. I also like to do a lot of fiber arts and design TTRPGs.

https://linktr.ee/islanderscaper

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Christy Munson28 days ago

    Powerful and moving!

  • Denise E Lindquist3 months ago

    Great!! 😊💕❤️

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    I love this, Kelsey. Yes! Be who you are, what you want to be, not who others decree you should be. Excellent! That sounds like a mantra and I didn't mean it to be.

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    Love the ending!

  • Test6 months ago

    Cleverly done. Love the use of pink as the spring board and that ending. Fantastic!

  • Joe Nasta2 years ago

    I love the way you used the color as a portal in this piece. Thanks for writing this. :)

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is great. Love it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.