Poets logo

Remember Me

A Soldiers Life.

By J. S. WadePublished 22 days ago Updated 22 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2024
30
Remember Me
Photo by Theodore Poncet on Unsplash

I.

Warm, warm, my milk flowered breath

bears fresh laden scents of my mothers breast.

.

Precious, precious, I toddle to and fro,

laughing, playing, my body grows.

.

Standing, standing, in front of my peers,

my Pledge of Allegiance for all to hear.

***

Unfurled, unfurled, the red, white, and blue ,

the flag centurion patriots flew.

.

Red, red, for blood that was shed,

the forebearers, all who died in my stead.

.

White, white, for Justice and peace,

an eternal flame, may it ever increase.

.

Blue, blue, by honor and faith,

freedom for all to fully embrace.

***

II.

Duty, duty, has called out my name,

serving my country, proud, no shame.

.

Courage, courage, terrified with fear.

I fight for right and all I hold dear.

.

Strife, strife, in battle, sacrificed,

for you and you, I laid down my life.

***

Draped, draped, in red, white, and blue,

the flag centurion patriots flew.

.

Red, red, my blood has been shed,

for you, my friends, I died in your stead.

.

White, white, for justice and peace,

my eternal flame, may it never cease.

.

Blue, blue, by honor and faith,

freedom for all I fully embraced.

***

Cold, cold, to dust, once your spartan,

stones lay untouched, our lives forgotten.

.

Remember, remember, remember please,

The life you live was never free.

*** *** ***

social commentaryinspirationalHolidayGratitude
30

About the Creator

J. S. Wade

Since reading Tolkien in Middle school, I have been fascinated with creating, reading, and hearing art through story’s and music. I am a perpetual student of writing and life.

J. S. Wade owns all work contained here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • shanmuga priya18 days ago

    Congratulations 🎉

  • angela hepworth20 days ago

    Powerful piece. Congratulations on TS!

  • Wonderful words for the subject

  • A powerful tribute for Memorial Day. Epic work!

  • Congrats on your TS.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Heather Hubler20 days ago

    I felt the gravity of these lines. What a way to honor and remember these lives and what they've given us. I was so happy to see your name in my notifications. Hope you're well :)

  • You peppered your poetic musings with much heart and deep respect! Very well written 👏

  • Donna Fox (HKB)21 days ago

    Back to say congrats on Top Story Scott!!!

  • Cathy holmes21 days ago

    Congrats on the TS.

  • Caroline Craven21 days ago

    So well written. Great top story and wishing you a peaceful Memorial Day.

  • Lamar Wiggins21 days ago

    This is the perfect reminder that life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness wouldn't be possible without the unfortunate need for our soldiers. I thank them all for their service. And thank you, Mr. Wade for this fine tribute to them. God Bless! PS: Happy Memorial Day, Scott. Good to see a post from you!

  • Paul Stewart21 days ago

    Back to say congrats on Top Story! :)

  • Donna Fox (HKB)21 days ago

    Scott, that last line... just hits so hard!! Such a beautiful tribute and so well written! Great work!!

  • This made me so emotional 🥺 Loved your poem so much. How have you been doing Scott?

  • JBaz22 days ago

    We must never forget . Well written and well said

  • Christy Munson22 days ago

    Never forgotten! ❤️🤍💙

  • Well written. Great work Scott.

  • Babs Iverson22 days ago

    Poignantly penned!!! May we always remember!!! ❤️❤️❤️

  • Cathy holmes22 days ago

    Great and moving tribute. Have a blessed Memorial day. 🙏

  • Paul Stewart22 days ago

    Have missed your stirring words. This is beautiful and heartfelt and expect to see it on the front page in not too long when it gets Top Story. Great work, Scott!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.