Poets logo

Petrichor

A world awash...

By Bex JordanPublished about a month ago 1 min read
Drops (Photo: @UmaSabirah)

We lay together

Listening to the rain

Through my window,

Half-cracked to let the

Air in after we

Made my room

So

Warm

I breathe her in,

Nestle my face against

Her hair, so artistically

Messed, a painting with

Brush strokes intentional,

Wrapped around and

Tangled into

Each

Other

I don't want her to go,

And so I reach for her

(and she's finally there!)

I kiss her, soft then hard,

Harder

I don't ever want

To let her go

But eventually I do

(after we're both left shaking,

Wondering at

the Electricity generated

From our bodies,

Entangled).

She says I'm something else,

And I don't know

What that is,

But I'm learning.

She sees me,

And that shakes me:

I'm so used to

Being invisible,

Nothing but

an occasionally

useful tool.

She says she's always

Seen me,

And I can't for

The life of me

Understand why this Goddess

Would bother

With a strange, confused creature

Like me,

But I trust her

And her

Mystic mind, which works

In such mysterious ways

And I am untangling her

Words, so well-thought

As they unravel

To me.

How is this so easy?

The knot in my

Stomach (thought permanent)

Loosens as

I tell her things

I've always been

Afraid to say–

Assuming I

Didn't matter,

My side-character status

Lifted, I'm

Brought sudden and vibrant

To center-stage.

She shines the spotlights

Of her steady eyes

On me, and

On all the shortcomings

Of those who came before

And I'm sure…

So finally, I am sure.

I walk her to

Her car, my feet slap bare against

Wet concrete.

She says she loves the

Smell of rain,

And I tell her

It's called ‘petrichor.’

She smiles and

Kisses me and

I would do anything

For her, but all I can

Do in the moment is

Kiss her back,

Open her door,

Close behind and

Let her go home…

Yet the smell of her

Lingers

As I lay

Listening to the

Rain.

love poems

About the Creator

Bex Jordan

She/They. Writer. Gardener. Cat-Lover. Nerd. Always looking up at the sky or down at the ground.

Profile photo by Román Anaya.

Instagram: @UmaSabirah

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred17 days ago

    I have never smelt rain as such but I know what you mean. Wonderful words

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    Came for the mention of my favourite thing and favourite word (or at least one of them) and stayed for such a gorgeous and beautiful heartfelt piece. Well done on another stirring poem, Bex! Felt this...felt like an intimate journal read...and the stuff between the two felt like an intimate spying of a close bonding. Just...breathtaking! :)

Bex JordanWritten by Bex Jordan

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.