Poets logo

Petals

A Poem

By Kale RossPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
36

I disrobe all of my black clothes at the sun’s close.

Then let the moonlight illuminate my brown toes.

I allow them to seep deep into the warm soil of the crown rose.

Fertilized footprints fossilizing as the green ground grows.

Beyond my dirty window - it glows - a golden crow

salivating from its silver nose as I slowly decompose.

Its amethyst mouth stuffed with furry toes, and canary yellow shadows.

I start to grow red pincers of adrenaline, while high percentages

of my dangling appendages begin melting away

from the bones of my skeleton.

I am a silverback spider, hitching rides on gray elephants.

Poisonous ambitions dipping white fangs into artificial intelligence.

My brown skin is bruised purple from all the pangs of this pestilence.

I taste the air, and allow gravity to pull me up by my strangled hair.

Chestnut curls curled around the teeth of a tangled snare.

The wind, however, is my ally.

A kaleidoscope thrill ride on a

rain cloud made of oily tie-dye.

Until the day I die, and dissolve

back into the diminishing blue,

I will continue to pedal a path to you -

blossoming petals for your eyes to view.

love poemssurreal poetryslam poetryperformance poetrynature poetryinspirationalart
36

About the Creator

Kale Ross

Author | Poet | Dog Dad | Nerd

Find my published poetry, and short story books here!

https://amzn.to/3tVtqa6

https://amzn.to/49qItsD

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Patrick M. Ohanaabout a month ago

    A towering and poignant piece! Congrats!

  • Beautiful words that dance on the page as I read them.

  • Jennifer David2 months ago

    Oof! This is so good. I'm legit going to read this again when I get home. I'm so about poems that rhymn....this is a keeper. Don't be surprised if I comment again on my own comment lol Love this!

  • ROCK 2 months ago

    Tantalizing! 🎉 Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Trishawn Blake2 months ago

    This is beautiful, I love it 💚💚💚💚

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Antoni Nima2 months ago

    😍🥹 love all the repeating oh, oh, oh, ohs. Evoking cries of woe, really beautiful work. My favorite lines are: "Fertilized footprints fossilizing as the green ground grows." and "My brown skin is bruised purple from all the pangs of this pestilence."

  • Idogho Oghale2 months ago

    I love how your poetry paints a vivid picture and evokes powerful emotions. It's captivating and beautiful!

  • Rowan Finley 2 months ago

    Love this! Nice job 👍

  • LASZLO SLEZAK2 months ago

    Beautiful.Congratulations.

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    This is gorgeous. Congrats on the TS.

  • Test2 months ago

    Superb work! Keep it up—congratulations!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby2 months ago

    Congratulations on your top story 👏

  • Melissa Ingoldsby2 months ago

    I am a silverback spider, hitching rides on grey elephants. Truly inelegant description that makes me feel tingly inside, very beautiful in its grotesque simplicity

  • Amber Van Wort2 months ago

    Wow! Incredible imagery--I'll be thinking about this line, "I start to grow red pincers of adrenaline, while high percentages/ of my dangling appendages begin melting away/ from the bones of my skeleton." all day. Great work and congrats on getting top story!

  • Jeremy White2 months ago

    Love this poem. Congrats on the top story.

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    Wonder piece! Latent with imagery and crafted with lyrical wonder. The last two lines were a stunning close

  • Gerard DiLeo2 months ago

    Beautiful. Fragrant, too.

  • Skyler Saunders2 months ago

    Nature takes center stage in this imaginative and imagery-based poem. The calmness offers an experience of “gray back spiders” and “elephants.” What this poem registers is the precision of thought about the flora and fauna of the world.

  • Daphsam2 months ago

    Absolutely beautiful. Wonderful, imagery and emotion. 

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.