Poets logo

Love Mantra

A Poem

By Kale RossPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
13

How did we meet?

...

Once upon a time,

I used to get drunk

on my porch and listen

to the songs of all the flying creatures.

Then order shitty pizza from around the corner

so I could flirt with the cute delivery lady

with the most fascinating features.

Now, I want your sweat to drip into my pores.

Turning my heart into a chemical

that science can only identify as yours.

A couple of moonlit postcards,

adrift beneath firefly skies.

We only seem to exist to

be each other’s butterflies.

We even have a little mantra,

something cool, something hip.

A relationship is a thread that must never be stripped.

A kiss is a grip that must never slip.

Sex is the one section you must not ever skip.

Love is a ship you must try not to flip.

humorslam poetryperformance poetrylove poemsinspirational
13

About the Creator

Kale Ross

Author | Poet | Dog Dad | Nerd

Find my published poetry, and short story books here!

https://amzn.to/3tVtqa6

https://amzn.to/49qItsD

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy174 months ago

    We only seem to exist to be each other’s butterflies. 💜💜💜

  • ROCK 5 months ago

    I feel the love beat! Keep doing what you're doing; it's tasty!

  • Manisha Dhalani5 months ago

    I clicked on this title because I found the photo so cute, but your poem was even more wonderful. Beautiful work, Kale.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.