Poets logo

Pen to Pad

for my sanity…

By Real PoeticPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - October 2023
Pen to Pad
Photo by Content Pixie on Unsplash

If I am the discarder of my own

happiness, then I can choose to

cherish it and never let go.

Making me a writer in my story.

It’s so easy to blame someone

or something else for my emotions—

Much harder to point the

finger at myself.

Expecting others to love like me

ended in disappointment or tragedy.

They failed to disguise their true

intentions like a bird hiding in a tree

with no leaves and falling branches,

though it’s my fault for ignoring

the red flags.

I might not have been fast

enough to dodge the jab,

but I have the authority

not to pick the scab and

the ability to press the

pen against the pad.

I heal by sharing art.

It’s the closest feeling to

pressing restart.

performance poetryinspirational

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

Thanks for reading!

[email protected]

Instagram: therealpoetic

-R.P. ❤️

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (30)

  • Kendall Defoe 6 months ago

    😎

  • Atlantica8 months ago

    Let's interact with each other Great article👍

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Nice one R.P and congrats on your top story too! ☺️👏👏

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    So glad this made top story!!!!

  • Beautiful

  • This is 💯You Rock 🎸♥️🎉✌️CONGRATULATIONS ON YOUR TOP STORY😉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Incredibly inspirational, as my good pal Dana said below me. Written with such grace and brutal honesty (as ever with you) I resonated so much with this, because I've found writing a great source of comfort and catharsis and dealing with my issues! Congrats on Top Story!

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    This is one of the best inspirational pieces I've read. Ever. Congratulations, RP!

  • Gerald Holmes8 months ago

    This flows so well and I loved the ending. Great work. Congrats on Top Story.

  • Great

  • The Dani Writer8 months ago

    "I might not have been fast enough to dodge the jab, but I have the authority not to pick the scab and the ability to press the pen against the pad!" Hoooooo that's a line!!! Top. Story. ROCKER!

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    Excellent, though sometimes we might use that pen nib to pick the scab.

  • Meena Maya Rai8 months ago

    You've got a sweet flow of your poem.....loved it!!

  • Kenny Penn8 months ago

    Wonderful poem, loved the message here. Congrats on top story

  • Lana V Lynx8 months ago

    Excellent. I loved both the rhythm and the message of this poem.

  • Dana Stewart8 months ago

    Fantastic message delivered so eloquently. Congratulations on the TS!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)8 months ago

    RP, this is so relatable and beautifully written! This is totally how I feel about my work and I love that you write for the same reason!! Great work RP and congratulations on Top Story!!

  • Tressa Rose8 months ago

    Great job, loved this!

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Hurray! Back to say congrats!

  • Margaret Brennan8 months ago

    CONGRATULATIONS ON TOP STORY STATUS. I totally agree that emotions are best kept in check when written down. Whether we choose to share them, is what makes us writers.

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    This is just gorgeous. Congrats on the TS.

  • Abdullah8 months ago

    Loved this great poet

  • Test8 months ago

    Congratulations on achieving top story status!🥰💓😘👌👍

  • Zara Blume8 months ago

    Yes. A million times yes. The red flags are always there, unchanging, even when people or circumstances do. We are the creators of our own happiness, and must stop ignoring red flags. Great poem.

Real PoeticWritten by Real Poetic

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.