Poets logo

Pebble Drops

For when you feel like a fish out of water

By CorwynnaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Pebble Drops
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

A pebble sat high on a mount

Alone and still, and with a pout

Told all it saw and all it felt

How all it wanted was to melt

It watched with envy as the ice

Dripped down into a small crevice

And huddled there for all to see

A droplet joined with t’other three

“Oh woe is me, woe is me,”

The pebble cried for all and for any,

“If only I could join like them

And have myself an Ever Friend

Who’d stick by me. I’d stick by them!”

So pebble sat and pebble moped

Until one day a donkey roped

Inexpertly to Tree above

Saw a chance to see its love

And pulled itself finally free

Only to fall down on two knees

Which caused a small fall to occur

But the events it would then stir

Rolled and rolled until that fall

Created a great pebble ball

That gathered pebbles big and tall

Fat and short and wide and small

The ball it rolled and came upon

Our very own pebble, whose eyes were on

A sad, sad sunset far away

And missed its chance to join the fray

The ball rolled past and one with glee

Jumped off to see what it could see

It met our pebble on the slope

And from this meeting, there grew hope

And hope became a friendship true

Enough to rival me and you

But though they were steadfast and loyal

Evil grows where Good won’t toil

And soon the pebbles went their ways

To find themselves in hap’yer days

So lonely now and finally blue

You turn to me, I turn to you

We swear that we shall never be

A rock as a droplet or a cat as a tree

We’ll be as we were meant to be

And stick together

You with me

nature poetry

About the Creator

Corwynna

I'm a 28 year old writer and biologist with a million hobbies and enough passion for all of them!

Explore my music, stories, and homebrew on my site:

https://sites.google.com/view/corwynnascorner/home

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    CorwynnaWritten by Corwynna

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.