Poets logo

Forget Me Not

A poem of a talk with a goddess of decay

By CorwynnaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Forget Me Not
Photo by Mathew MacQuarrie on Unsplash

Her voice was smooth as water

When you skim your hands across

Her fingertips trailed long across the ground

She raised her eyes to meet mine

And nothing stared right through me

She spoke with whispers that had not been said,

"Come find me in the forest, love

The twist to falling leaves

The way the mushrooms climb upon the log

Come find me in the river, dear

The stones that wear away

The bones that clatter where they can't be heard

Come find me in the aftermath

With all you have forgotten

And everything that grows from what you lose

Find me in your beating heart

It will not beat forever

And I am there in every moment gone."

She wasn't there before me

Though my eyes yet could see her

I closed them and knew I would not have long.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Corwynna

I'm a 28 year old writer and biologist with a million hobbies and enough passion for all of them!

Explore my music, stories, and homebrew on my site:

https://sites.google.com/view/corwynnascorner/home

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.