Poets logo

Past and Future

Poetry about loss and grief

By Isabella RenteriaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Past and Future
Photo by Guillaume de Germain on Unsplash

I am stuck between the past and the future

There is no middle part

And yet I am in it

For many years, I have always been there

Afraid to move on from the past

And step into the future

Not knowing what will bring me

Misfortune or happiness?

All my life, I never got any good things

That would last forever

Because I was always so broken

Never worth staying for

Never worth fighting for

And never worth loving

I have come to accept the terms with that

It became a habit to me

And when someone cares for me

I am left with the lingering thought

When will they leave me?

And how will I cope with it?

What will happen afterwards?

My thoughts are running wild

Heartbeat accelerating

Never wanting to experience it again

So I shut myself away from the world

Isolating in my own darkness

For I have grown used to it

That it does not frighten me anymore

When it lunges at me

In anger

For what I had done

And all I could do was

Crack open a soft smile and say,

“I deserved it.”

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Isabella Renteria

"Painting is silent poetry, and poetry is painting that speaks." - Plutarch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.