Poets logo

Painted Juliette

An acrostic poem

By Gina C.Published 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
29
Image created with Midjourney

Daylight still

Is jealous of your halo--you are

Sunshine—unmistakable--that brings life into the

Terracotta of your eyes. In a dream I have, you're

Revirescent Romeo--a single glance from you and I am young again: so bright, aglow, alive.

Acculturated are we to the

Chaos that accompanies this tradeoff, darling:

The Daylight waits to be your scarlet sunset--and me, I...

...I wait to be your Juliette that's painted in the sky. Oh,

Ombré are the clouds that swirl above me as I reach for you, dear Romeo--

Negligent to staying in the present am dear I--always chasing daylight just to be the one who lights your eyes today; always dreaming I'm your Juliette that's painted in the sky.

*

-Gina C. 🧚‍♀️✨

*

This poem is part of my Signature Mini collection. If you'd like to read more from this collection, try this one:

This poem was written for the Dancing with Distraction Challenge. :)

***

Thank you so much for reading! ☺️

I'd be over the moon if we could support each other! I am an active member on the Vocal Discord Server, as well as the Vocal + Assist, Great Incantations, The Vocal Social Society, The Vocal Creators Lounge, and The Medium Writers and Vocal Creators Support Facebook groups. Posting your work there is the best way for me to support you! :) ❤️

love poems
29

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme☺️

Fueled by a conflicted soul of fire & water

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    I love "your terracotta eyes" 😁

  • This was a perfect love poem. The lines I wait to be your Juliette that’s painted in the sky and Terracotta of your eyes really stood out to me. I read in the author’s note of another of your poems that flow is very important to you. You can really see the effort to create that perfect rhythm in your writing. Flow is also very important to me😊

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    Your poetry revives the smoldering ruins of a heart that once blindly believed in the magic of romance. This is delightful Gina 🥰

  • Kim Loostrom11 months ago

    All of your acrostic poems have been such a delight!! Another stunning poem ☺️

  • Chloe Gilholy11 months ago

    I loved this. I felt Juliet’s voice.

  • The Dani Writer11 months ago

    Fantastic work here, Gina! I felt like I was in an artist's outdoor studio from start to finish of nature's canvas.

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    Snap, snap, snap!

  • Ian Read11 months ago

    The words themselves are joyous and paint a swirl of color. Excellent work!

  • KJ Aartila11 months ago

    As always, your words and imagery are beautiful! ❤️

  • This is a beautiful flow of words

  • Not me thinking of Panna Cotta when I saw Terracotta, lol! Revirescent Romeo, that was so beautiful! Also, daylight being jealous of his halo, magnifique! Loved your poem so much!

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    I'm always admiring your meter! I've always struggled to achieve a flowing meter, like in your poetry. It really does shine in each one, and here is no exception! Stunning imagery and gorgeous diction. It's a poem I want to snuggle up to and be warmed by. 💜

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    So Beautiful!

  • Jon H. Davis11 months ago

    I love the way you paint with words. Flowing like water, freely around all obstacles.

  • Cezanne Libellen11 months ago

    You paint a picture so well!! Love this!!

  • Ava Mack11 months ago

    Rhyming 'sunset' with 'Juliette' - amazing! Love this!

  • Bree Beadman11 months ago

    The shifting formatting is cool and I enjoyed the word choices.

  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    ☺️✨🙌Lovely work & word choices as always…I will need to find out what ombré means though.

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    Ooo, such lovely imagery in this. I could picture it all. And 'ombre skies' was sooo good!! Stellar work, my friend!!

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    This is beautiful. It's romantic and dreamlike and reads like a musical. Amazing, as always.

  • Brenton F11 months ago

    The vivid colours your words paint and then the pictures they adorn, so neatly and nicely done.

  • Hannah E. Aaron11 months ago

    This poem is gorgeous! I really like how color and gradients of color are used and implied in the piece. "Terracotta of your eyes"??? Absolutely lovely. The color of terracotta is immediately recognizable, but I also love the associations that come with terracotta, especially how "life" is brought into these eyes along with "[s]unshine." I think of clay pots for plants and how they help to sustain life and promote growth. Awesome job!

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    Love the romanticism in this one!

  • "Sunrise, Sunset". The beauty painted through the sky, through life, through love, gracing us with the indescribable, intangible, untouchable.

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    So ethereal 🥰🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.