Poets logo

Outrovert

overt

By Andrei Z.Published 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2023
Outrovert
Photo by Billy Williams on Unsplash

Here you can drop your luggage,

There you can drop your jaw.

Ain't no love to savor, no rage to savage,

Let's close this chapter; let's call it a draw.

To and fro, your thoughts meander,

Your mind begs to surrender,

Pleads guilty. No mercy, no forgiveness,

Only bitterness. Deceitful as Venus

Are these emotions. All pretense, affectation,

An abusive, intrusive manifestation

Of fallacious composure. So reach

For the false horizon and teach

Yourself, once again, how to tell lies

And how to move your thighs

To the rhythm of this feigned joviality.

Counterfeit happiness in this hoaxing reality.

Ain't no reason to change anything.

Truly. Let us pretend to ignore the seam,

The surgery went well. Now, with a new face,

Go and perform your sacrificial dance.

The audience is watching. Look,

                                    they're clapping their hands.

how tosocial commentaryperformance poetry

About the Creator

Andrei Z.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (22)

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    Well, they have to have something to clap at! Bravo and lots of robotic and maybe some human applause. Sorry I missed this before, and a tardy congrats! (I didn't hear the bell.) This poem is either too depressing or too hilarious to spend to many words analyzing, can't tell which yet. As savory as a skinned cat. Bye, til next time.

  • Sid Aaron Hirji10 months ago

    This is how to describe a narcissistic relationship

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    Goddamn, I feel like my brain is an idiot. But I finally get it, and GODDAMN, Andrei. Why am I getting the same vibes as your pigeon poem here? I feel like you're tapped in to the end of the world, the secret nefarious plots that I get tastes of here and there but don't fully understand... I bet you live in one of those Swiss tunnel systems... LOL "...So reach For the false horizon and teach Yourself, once again, how to tell lies And how to move your thighs To the rhythm of this feigned joviality. Counterfeit happiness in this hoaxing reality." WTF?? I feel like, over the course of this poem, the "you" person is completely violated ("there you can drop your jaw" --> "the surgery went well") in order to fit back into society, but it requires the sacrifice of their honest feelings and thoughts. God. Does horror have a poetry tag yet? This would fit. Like 1984 here. I almost expected to be asked what 2+2 equals. Whatever you intended this to mean (and yes, I would love to know), I feel like this could relate to several specifics, the most obvious being digital reality, whether it be on SM, entertainment platforms like Tik Tok, or even here on Vocal. "Feigned joviality" --> I feel it everywhere, though. I'll hush now. 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻❤️

  • Kristen Balyeat10 months ago

    Great poem, Andrei! Very thought provoking and fun to read! 🙌🏽💫👏🏽

  • KJ Aartila10 months ago

    Very nice! I love this so much - the intensity, the urgency - and the last 2 lines really pack a punch. :)

  • Sugan Ya 10 months ago

    Nice written. Congrats on your TS...

  • Uboh Daniel10 months ago

    Please, I just wrote my article, kindly rate it for me so that I can do better. https://vocal.media/earth/blossoms-of-life-ugb09h1

  • Nice piece and Congratulations on your Top Story❤️💯📝🎉

  • Creator Hamzi10 months ago

    wow nice line, I enjoyed it. Can you check out mine? https://vocal.media/poets/the-crafted-heart

  • Chloe10 months ago

    Woahhhh!! The rhyming and flow of this poem is so captivating! Love it!

  • Sarah D10 months ago

    Lovely article! Enjoyed reading! Read mine? https://vocal.media/fiction/an-irrevocable-dream-about-a-mermaid

  • ema10 months ago

    I love it! 😍 " Counterfeit happiness in this hoaxing reality" is my favorite line.

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    YES TO THIS BEING TOP STORY

  • A. Lenae10 months ago

    Yes! That last line, with the formatting and the build-up = full tingles. What a twisty fun-house mirror poem, showing a reflection of the performative parts of us/society that are always worth reflecting upon. Great piece!

  • Alex H Mittelman 10 months ago

    Great work! I enjoyed this!

  • Poppy 10 months ago

    This is so raw. You are very talented!

  • Wonderfully and terrifically written. Excellent work!!!

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    Your poetry is next level. Could I read this on the podcast???

  • Whoaaa, this was so powerful! I loved it!

  • Rachel Deeming10 months ago

    Loved yours and Hannah's comment sharing! Made me laugh! But never mind that. Great poem.

  • I cannot help but think, "Send in the Clowns" by Joni Mitchell.

  • Hannah Moore10 months ago

    I saw a comment today that in the grown up world of poetry, rhyming is considered uncool. True, very often true, I thought. Now I beg to differ.

Andrei Z.Written by Andrei Z.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.