Poets logo

Levels of Doubt

to mount and amount

By Andrei Z.Published 10 months ago 1 min read
Levels of Doubt
Photo by Ramakrishnan Nataraj on Unsplash

I am.

I believe I am.

I want to believe I am.

I think I want to believe I am.

I think—

Hence, I am.

Do hens think as well?

To hens on a fence!

Two hens,

And they dance

Flamenco.

Their tails are in flames.

The hens are peacocks.

They dance, and they drink

Rum on the rocks.

I am, but I think

I'm not very sane.

Do you think the same?

I thought that I sought

A purpose, a god

In life and in death.

I sought sunny days.

I thought that I was,

But I knew the truth:

There is no real cause

For all this to be.

Please, fill in the blanks,

I feel inside out,

And drift to Swiss banks,

And keep laughing out loud.

Please do laugh with me,

Hysterical, tense,

At width and at length.

The longitude, latitude, solitude days,

Abundant and scarce,

Are here for us,

Are here to stay.

I've got words to say,

Some stories to tell,

But my tongue is swollen,

But I am insane.

I've got a spare tooth,

It protrudes from my palate.

I soothe my own truth,

I guess I'm a mutant.

And it's way too late

To... aye, it's alright!

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Andrei Z.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Love Adjorlolo 9 months ago

    Mind blowing

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Andrei, I love this! My ADHD brain totally followed the whole way, not even missing a beat!! I appreciate your humour and sense of fun!! 😊

  • This was all over the place and I loved it because this is how I feel at times! I enjoyed this so much!

  • Brenton F10 months ago

    All over the shop and chaotically brilliant!

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    It's the pea-hens that you want go for if you're roasting or braising them. Peacocks are tough and stringy but the hen is the queen of roasting fowl! I guess that more than anything is irrefutable proof of existence. Top-notch poem again, great work!

  • Andrei, this almost requires illustration in a Dr. Seuss-esque format! I absolutely loved the free range stream of thought.

  • L.C. Schäfer10 months ago

    Thank you for letting us boars your unique train of thought 😁

Andrei Z.Written by Andrei Z.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.