Poets logo

One Memory Proves Existence

Of a love that still echoes in the past

By Colleen Millsteed Published 10 months ago 2 min read
Image courtesy of Pixabay

I lay in my bed in the dark of the night,

Gazing at the few stars that twinkle in the sky,

Honoured to witness those, what with the city’s light pollution,

And as they often do, my thoughts of you start to clarify.

I wonder if you’re laying there too,

Watching the same twinkle that I see,

Reminiscing, remembering of a time long ago,

And wonder if you often think of me.

I like to wander back to all our good times,

When love was grand and the world was ours,

The simplicity of the days of long ago,

Loving and talking into the small hours.

Do you view the same moon as I now look upon,

And ponder the wrongness of our history?

Reliving the agony of our final goodbye,

Or have you forgotten and I’m just a mystery?

I like to think we are still connected by our faraway gazes,

As our eyes alight on the same starry night,

Whispers of the past crossing our mind simultaneously,

If only for a minute, that’s perfectly alright.

Or am I a romantic of epic portrayal,

As in reality you slumber the dreams of the night’s peace,

While I lay here wide eyed and lost in the memories,

Of a love long gone, quick to release?

I continue to gaze into the blackest of hours,

Where you live on in the fondest of my dreams,

Fixated in stone upon a chamber of my heart,

Lost and abound to within my silent extremes.

Is love truly ever really lost,

If memories of the magical encounters still exist?

Doesn’t it still flow into the ether beyond,

At least while I lay here and remember the one I missed?

Feel me out here in the far off left field,

Meet me in the gaze of our joint recollection,

Wish upon the stars in a collective assessment,

Honour the past love of our deepest connection.

My love, you still walk the hallways of the best of my times,

Shadowing the beauty of the experience in which we loved and laughed,

While I still take a breath within these nighttime hours,

We still exist within the mystical, magic of life’s handicraft.

My thoughts and memories keep our past love in existence,

As the reminiscing produce the echoes that sound into our forever,

Dwindling silently as the years flow past, thought of less and less,

Not until our deaths that our love’s existence will cease to exist whatsoever.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

love poems

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    Omggg, I always do this! It's like you are inside my head, lol! Absolutely loved your poem my friend!

  • Ah, the memories that continue to haunt us, both wistfully & painfully. As long as we remember, no one is truly ever fully absent from us, both for good & for ill.

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    This is fantastic. I just love it.

  • Matthew Mccahey10 months ago

    Amazing as usual Colleen, I often wonder if my past loves look up at the same moon as me and do their hearts ache as well? are they guided by the same night stars or have our paths diverged too far beyond.

  • This is so fresh and Beautifully written- ❤️😉 Gazing at the few stars that twinkle in the sky👌Love this line✨

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Heartfelt reminiscing, lovingly writes!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    Is Love ever lost? 😭

Colleen Millsteed Written by Colleen Millsteed

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.