Poets logo

It’s Terribly Wrong

But I don’t have the answers

By Colleen Millsteed Published 10 months ago 1 min read
Image courtesy of Pixabay

Stop!

Drop and let’s rewind,

It’s terribly wrong,

I’m out of my mind.

😰

Heart racing,

What’s the sense of it all,

Where should I be,

Time for an overhaul?

😰

I don’t belong,

Not here, not there,

Not today, not tomorrow,

Not anywhere.

😰

The struggle is real,

But try to describe the feeling,

The stress on speed dial,

The fake smile concealing.

😰

The tears cascading,

The dam unblocked,

No sense of purpose,

Impossibly deadlocked.

😰

Surviving,

But it’s not enough,

There’s got to be more,

Suck it up, you’re tough.

😰

Some days I’m not,

More often of late,

But I refuse to accept,

This is now my fate.

😰

Hopelessness,

My new best friend,

Overwhelmed,

Will it never end?

😰

Is there a point,

A lesson to learn,

Or is the mundane

My greatest concern?

😰

Sorrow burning,

Sobs heaving,

Goodbyes endless,

Forever leaving.

😰

There’s got to be more,

Than to simply exist,

To fight and battle,

To persistently resist.

😰

Locked in the cycle

Of all work, no play,

It was drilled into me,

But how’s that okay?

😰

Change is needed,

But to what or where?

No life, no passion,

No wonder, no care.

😰

A dull tomorrow,

No vivid dreams,

No wishes, no hopes,

Just silent screams.

😰

This is the right,

To which I was raised,

A good job, a listless life,

Unfazed and dazed.

😰

No, I refuse,

To accept this as my due,

I’m not down and out,

I’m just feeling blue!

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

sad poetry

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    I'm so sorry you're feeling down my friend. I hope writing this made you feel better. Sending you lots of love and hugs! ❤️

  • I surrendered the idea that I was just feeling blue a long time ago. People always say, "It takes fewer muscles to smile than to frown." My response for decades has been, "But it doesn't take any to do either." Again, Colleen, I feel this one deeply & have said much the same to myself repeatedly.

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    I loved the pace like Grz commented on. I love the hopelessness to hope towards the end!

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    I’ve tried to heart this a few times but it won’t allow me to for some reason…even came back an hour later. Very weird. I like this one Colleen, it’s more slam style poetry than you previous pieces, at least the ones I’ve read. And it sure is relatable!! The fast frenetic pace works well too. I hope it is not too close to home but if it is, sometimes that is when the best writing comes that hits a nerve! Well done. 👍☺️

Colleen Millsteed Written by Colleen Millsteed

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.