Poets logo

On the Open Road of Reality

A Scenic Route Through Time

By Alina KayPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
4
PC: Pixabay.com

Playing hide and seek with entropy,

The count down seemingly ceaseless,

I’m dancing on the edges of criticality.

Utterly unsure if that carping goal was ever truly worthy,

I balance, twirl, and prance on this thin divide

Between downright chaos and outright harmony,

As if to disclaim either side as ever being part of me.

I find pieces of my soul here

Entangled with the stars as

Neither nonexistent illusory energy,

Nor a machine of flesh existing independently,

I’m an immortal, disorderly, perfectionist tendency.

Not much different from you, I assume,

There in your very own variety of the driver's seat.

This vehicle of mine reflects each mile gone.

I drove around for so long utterly unconsciously

Until I took the next exit,

Turned down the relentless audio book

Of my ego’s horror-filled bedtime stories,

And paved my own scenic route through time

On this open road of reality.

In this infinite present,

From moment to moment,

It’s time to decide that you, as well,

Are positively worthy.

inspirational
4

About the Creator

Alina Kay

Endlessly existential, detrimentally curious, chef, baker, writer.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dylan about a year ago

    This is amazing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.