Poets logo

Departed

Bottled Without a Label

By Alina KayPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2022
18
Photo Courtesy of GQ: India

The weeks are passing by

So quickly these days.

While each hour ticks by to a grandfather clock "tock,"

Like clockwork, I dream through all my days.

And when I wake up from fantasies

It's time to sleep again.

I wish to birth these thoughts from my brain-

To watch them grow old fine like wine.

Instead, I'm vying to be bottled without a label.

And like an absent moon hiding from the rays,

I've been departed as of late.

As Time ever flows yet ever goes,

I can't remember what it tastes like

To carelessly waste it.

As I watch every second of distilled thought

Drip away into an action-less mist,

I think, “Is living for the ego all that there is-

A wanting to be witnessed to undoubtedly prove,

That none of this human experience was fake?”

From fears of becoming a silent fallen tree,

I formed the most unforgettable identity,

Like a character in a story clinging to

A gifted bottle of my go-to Pinot Gris,

Because it reminded them of my name,

Or a newborn baby bearing my face.

I can't help but think about,

In these departed days,

What if we told each other,

Or even ourselves,

That we should never stay the same?

I want to transform with each novel flavor combination-

Create art from the rare pigmentation of my brain.

Romanticize myself without a perfect portrait

Grow in and out of these tangled neuro pathways,

And become my own flavor of fermented grapes

dependent on the weather for their taste,

Thriving in warm summers

or even crisp winter rains.

surreal poetry
18

About the Creator

Alina Kay

Endlessly existential, detrimentally curious, chef, baker, writer.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.