Poets logo

A Certain Kind of Peace

Inner Knowing

By Alina KayPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
3
Photo Courtesy of Christina Lattimer via People Development Magazine

I wake up each day inside a maze of chaos

That looks like the hallways of my mind

Layered in this labyrinth of civilization

And yet, after running around for miles

Unable to find a path to freedom,

After giving every ounce of me to

Fighting, screaming, and relentlessly resisting,

All I’m left with is peace-

Not the kind of peace that ends wars or online arguments,

But the kind that reassures me everything will be okay.

Yes, it really will,

In the same way a banana

Is best eaten when it’s losing its last bit of green,

And when the brown freckles inevitably form,

Because I shopped with my stomach instead of logic,

They’re still perfect for blending into a strawberry banana smoothie.

And, even still, when the freckles flood over every bit of yellow

I can happily mash them into bread batter,

Or if time slips by and it's consumed instead by decay

I'll throw its carcass on the compost

To create something new.

It’s a peace similar to knowing,

When the clock shows 3 pm,

When the day, like my life,

Feels halfway between

Almost over and just begun,

I still have value; I am still enough,

And my productivity doesn’t have the right to change

Or influence how much I’m allowed to believe that I’m worth,

Like the way it was when I was a child-

Free to explore the universe through bookshelves

And draw fruits bowls for hours until it looked right;

It never looked quite right.

Yet, I could climb Mount Everest by sundown

And, as I stood on top of the world,

Show off my latest favorite work of art.

Maybe, if I knew then what I was experiencing,

If I could tell myself to hold tight, to never lose that feeling,

Maybe I wouldn't have stopped giving it to myself,

This gift of peace, an inner knowing,

That I did my best today,

And so did everyone else that took part.

These days I find peace in singing out of tune,

Like coloring outside the lines

Of my very own vocal chords

Morphing each stroke with rasps, cracks, and distortions

Making a new picture for each color to fit into.

It’s a peace that grows from inside my chest

Blooming into a string of notes

As I learn to fall in love with the way my voice sounds

With this peace, I take a seat,

Wherever it is in this maze I've winded myself to,

shedding all the identities that have become of me

A metamorphosis of turning

All that I’ve ever known inside and out-

Beliefs within and doubts without.

I sit within my stillness,

As the walls come crashing down

Revealing what I’ve been made of

This whole time.

I go to sleep and rise again to find

New walls have taken shape,

But with this peace I know

That no matter what I face,

Only I hold the power to define my inner landscape.

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Alina Kay

Endlessly existential, detrimentally curious, chef, baker, writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.