Poets logo

On The Edge

My inner thoughts finally breaking free as I turn into a new me

By Thorn DeathPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I am born on the edge.

The people surround me.

They talk about how pretty I am

and bicker over who I look like

- my mother or my father.

They don't notice my dull eyes,

or they choose to ignore it.

I am born. I am on the edge.

I learn to walk on the edge.

The people cheer for me.

They encourage me to run

and they laugh when I fall

- as long as I'm not hurt.

They don't notice I don't speak,

or they choose to ignore it.

I can walk. I am on the edge.

I go to school on the edge.

The people worry for me.

They cry for my departure

and lecture me about safety

- "cover yourself in your friend's blood".

They don't notice my lack of care,

or they choose to ignore it.

I go to school. I am on the edge.

I date on the edge.

The people are happy for me.

They talk about milestones of life

and talk more about safety

- condoms and etcetera.

They don't notice the abuse,

or they choose to ignore it.

I am dating. I am on the edge.

I sit on the edge.

The people are yelling at me.

They are mad for I speak too much

and tell me everything I say is wrong

- even with proof.

They don't notice the reality,

or they choose to ignore it.

I am sitting. I am on the edge.

I stand on the edge.

The people are still mad at me.

I say too many things

and have too many opinions

- like rapists are the problem.

They don't notice the way they're breaking me,

or they choose to ignore it.

I am standing. I am on the edge.

I scream on the edge.

The people are now quiet.

They don't know what to say

and stare at me in horror

- horror for why I would do that.

They don't notice my frustration,

or they choose to ignore it.

I scream. I am on the edge.

I cry on the edge.

The people are speaking again.

They are mad at my outbursts

and for being so loud

- for telling them to be quiet.

They don't notice I don't care,

or they choose to ignore it.

I cry. I am on the edge.

I stare in silence on the edge.

The people are yelling at me again.

They won't stop telling me what to do

and who to be

- no matter what I say.

They don't notice I'm not their property,

or they choose to ignore it.

I stare in silence. I am on the edge.

I jump off the edge.

The people scream in terror.

They cry over my action

and panic at the knowledge

- the knowledge they can't do anything.

They don't notice I'm just freeing myself,

or they choose to ignore it.

I am falling. I am off the edge.

I am in the ground.

The people cry still.

They say they miss me

and they love me

- never saying they're sorry for always blaming me.

They don't notice I don't care now,

or they choose to ignore it.

I am in the ground. I am dead.

I am free.

I am sorry for the pain it has caused some.

But I am not sorry for me

or everyone who harassed me

- everyone who said it was all my fault.

No one is yelling at me now,

or saying I'm exaggerating.

I am free. Free from people like that.

I have grown.

The people hate me for it.

They still mourn who I once was

and continue living with her memory

- never admitting they're the ones who killed her.

They don't notice I am safe now,

or perhaps they just don't care.

I have grown. I have watched my abusers drown.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Thorn Death

"Here lies a resting place for dark minds."

Sharing my stories, articles, and photographs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Testabout a year ago

    Brilliant, sad, disturbing, real .... Wow. Amazing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.