Poets logo

Oil on Canvas

A Study in Endearment

By M J GrahamPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
1665 Girl with a Pear Earring, Johannes Vermeer

Her face, framed by vibrant cerulean, looks smooth to the touch

Like the finest porcelain.

Despite its pallor, her cheeks bloom with soft, subtle warmth.

My fur brush traces the arch of her brows,

the gentle slope of her nose,

and the dip of cupid’s bow, resting on her upper lip.

Her mouth is open, breathless, holding onto silent wishes.

Yearning to be filled with the breath of another.

I paint them in shades of peach and pink.

And the pearl I gave to her hangs delicately,

Richer than anything she has ever called her own,

Luminescent, yet pale in comparison to her innocent eyes.

The gleam in her eyes calls to me,

As she watches, in shades of grey and violet

With cool brown undertones.

Twin gemstones reveal the things

I wish those lips could one day whisper;

The feelings I’ve captured on canvas but never heard.

Strokes of black hug her silhouette and

I breathe a sigh of mourning;

Her portrait is complete.

*

*

*

If you liked this poem, try out my top story poem, Mary.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

M J Graham

I like to dabble!

Check out my top story: Mary

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.