Poets logo

T-O-P S-T-O-R-Y

That was never me

By T. LichtPublished 15 days ago 1 min read
5

Top Story

That was never me

I was born the last word in an epilogue no one ever took the time to read

But who cared

I came after the drama, after the resolution

Superfluous

I was never meant to be top story

I was barely a straight sentence

Couldn’t think of threading a paragraph together

My story, whenever I dared to live it, seemed to be written with invisible ink

Top Story

Two words I dreamed of

Out of boredom, tied it to a string and released it to the sky

Watching it befriend the kites

Sometimes I’d see a cloud near it

Gently graze by and kiss the edges of the tall t

But then reject it with tomorrow’s rain

Then I’d pick up the mumble-jumbled letters off the wet pavement

And thread the letters back in order

T-O-P S-T-O-R-Y

And sit and wait unobtrusively like the last word in an epilogue

yet again

sad poetryFree Verse
5

About the Creator

T. Licht

I have a love for words and a love to share them.

Well then, enjoy and thank you for taking the time to read this and maybe if you want subscribe;)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 12 days ago

    Lovely poem. Just write your poetry and don’t worry about TS. 🤗🤩

  • Manisha Dhalani14 days ago

    Refreshing to see if this made it into top story! :) All the best!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.