Poets logo

I Wanted to Say I love You

she left too soon

By T. LichtPublished 17 days ago 1 min read
Like

I wanted to say I love you

But my throat swelled with tears

Tears that ran down my chin and neck

And left a chill as it petered out

I wanted to stroke your blond strands

As if it were harp

and let the music of your soft breathing

reverberate in the empty room

And fill my bones with a certain warmth

No sun or sweater would give

I wanted to say I love you

But something inside didn’t

I choke back another bout

Though a single tear still leaks and falls

And I know it’s a bit too late…

I swallow the large lump

And lie down, moaning to the moon

I wanted to say I love you

But she left, she left too soon

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

T. Licht

I have a love for words and a love to share them.

Well then, enjoy and thank you for taking the time to read this and maybe if you want subscribe;)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.