Poets logo

Oh, Stupid Cupid!

Most Favourite and Least Favourite Words Poetry Challenge

By Natasha CollazoPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
11
Oh, Stupid Cupid!
Photo by Laura Ockel on Unsplash

Below is my entry into Most and Least Favourite Words Challenge.

https://vocal.media/writers/most-favourite-and-least-favourite-words-poetry-challenge

*************************************

It was a very melancholy morning. Holidays usually do this.

Especially this one, the arrow in my back can prove it.

Chocolate, flowers, and candy- oh my!

But I can’t because I’m on a diet and I’m hitting my prime.

Although nuts give me allergies, I risk it all, on massive amounts of calories.

My doctor says I should exercise more,

but the apple-pie is flooding the stores!

Topping it off with whip cream and cherries,

To satisfy the craving for anything dairy.

Taunting me around this holiday is that little naked fairy.

To hpynotize me with another redflag, but I’m still sticking around for whatever cookies are in the bag.

Laying out a pretty black dress, and squeezing on my spanks,

I spritz my French bob, realizing my breath is foul and rank.

If those words don’t make you cringe abit,

I don’t think anything’s more grim than malignant.

My date is undoubtedly late,

but that’s okay,

because it’s not like he’s my soulmate.

Cramming my face with banana pudding then decided to paint my toes,

I realized its happening again, when my date never showed.

A fat Angel, a bow and an arrow,

hovering above as cool as a dove; but wings of a sparrow.

Oh stupid Cupid, it’s all part of your masquerade,

A holiday of love, leaving you the one to blame.

I’ve moved on to Crème brûlée.

Washing it down with sweet red wine,

but the word I hate the most, is that ugly word valentine.

humor
11

About the Creator

Natasha Collazo

**Studying Modern Journalism @ NYU **

Project: The diary of an emo Latina

I get inspired at the mid of night

Stock market by day, howler by night

✍🏽

Inquiries: [email protected]

Instagram: @sunnycollazo

Do all things in love

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK 4 months ago

    Love it. I first read in your bio that you stalked markets by day instead of stock market. Sometimes a reader's mind takes one to a whole other place. Werewolf, huh? ❤️

  • Raymond G. Taylor5 months ago

    A feast of delicious words, well done. Shame about poor Valentine though. I always liked the name though sympathise with the Valentines a young Janis Ian never knew.

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    Mmm! Creme Brulé Loved your Poem!

  • Very entertaining and clever... some delightful words... & rank & malignant are sure hard on the ears and eyes!

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    This is a great entry. Nicely done.

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    This was great, Natasha...like Dharrsh...you made me rather hungry...I am not a fan of Valentine's either...and all the pressure that goes along with those sorta celebrations. Well done and thank you for this fine entry to my challenge! Also, I'm now subscribed :)

  • Your poem made me so hungry, lol. I always call Cupid stupid and hate Valentine too!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.