Poets logo

Oh, My Child

I'm still here

By Judey Kalchik Published 12 months ago 1 min read
15
https://pixabay.com/users/giselaatje-5659706/

Steam fogs the mirror

clouded,

the window

blurs my sight of the world.

.

Water drapes my face

sliding across my cheeks, neck, shoulders

dripping off the body

but not washing the spirit of pain and remorse.

.

I lather

rinse

repeat.

Apply conditioner, clip, then move on.

.

Foamy puff

soothes

relaxing.

Hands hover over the tiger lines, reminders I once carried you.

.

My heart

bruised

weeping.

Birth pain long forgotten, now your brisk dismissal shatters my soul.

.

Far away

independent

adult.

Past-made choices distance us, afraid of more rejection I hesitantly falter.

.

Suds whirl

drain

guttering.

Once I pushed you out into the world; how I yearn to have you in my life.

. . . . . . . . .

Oh boy- parenting can be difficult. You want them to be able to think and act for themselves, but also (kinda) to still need you and want to be with you.

Here's a short story that was a Vocal Top Story about a mom realizing something about her mother. It helped me work through some things in my own life- writing short stories can do that. I think you'll like it.

Please click on the wee heart if my writing clicked with you, and drop in a comment to share your thoughts!

Thanks to a new Vocal update, members can receive a notification when new posts are made by the writers to which they subscribe. It's free to do and you can subscribe to me below.

You can also find me on Medium.

social commentarysad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
15

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Gigi Gibson11 months ago

    Another incredible piece! I felt all the feels and loved your word choices… My heart bruised weeping. Birth pain long forgotten, now your brisk dismissal shatters my soul. Wow… that’s impactful.

  • Sheila L. Chingwa12 months ago

    The moment, many cherish.

  • "The Cat's in the Cradle" in reverse. Either showers or baths can be so comforting, but they can also serve to release that inner anguish, hurt & confusion we tend to keep bottled up inside. Blessings.

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    This just hit me right in the feels so hard! — “now your brisk dismissal shatters my soul” 😭❤️

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    Beautifully stated. The distance is hard for dads, too, although we can only imagine the pain of giving birth.

  • Jay Kantor12 months ago

    'J' ~ I so enjoy you sharing 'you' ~ 'J'

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.