Poets logo

Oh, a Night.

A piece of prose.

By Erica ScottPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
1
Oh, a Night.
Photo by Altınay Dinç on Unsplash

The man who tried to shoot my mother and I is now dying of cancer. She visits him every night. But I can’t forget the echo of the gun or how fast my heart beat. I can’t erase the smell of liquor on his breath or the taillights of my mother as she, without me, drove off and left. I can’t un-feel the grass on my soles or the cool breeze of that March. I can’t unhear how he said my name in the tone of a man ready to die. I can’t unsee the gun pointed towards my face, then at his, as he noticed the tears in my eyes. He’s dying of cancer, and she visits him every night. But I’ve been living with his death ever since the incident, the one she never admits.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Erica Scott

A young adult, self-proclaimed poet from Florida who writes from a place of uncertainty, just hoping to one day reach the depths of someone else's heart besides her own.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER11 months ago

    Painful, Poignant ... I feel it. 👏

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.