Poets logo

Ode to Seashells

~May you always have a shell in your pocket, and sand in your shoes.

By Veronica ColdironPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
29
Created with Night Café Creators Studio

The seashell seems such a tiny thing, oddly shaped yet perfectly strong,

Like so many things, found in rivers and streams,

Daily pushed and then pulled along.

Long ago, I was oddly curious and in love with the sand and sea,

Their treasures untold so great to behold,

Often got the better of me.

Likening myself to pirates of old, I lost myself in the day,

The whole world behind me, my mom couldn't find me,

Digging seashells up from the bay.

iStock Photos

Looking up at the sea as I labored, it's glory sunk into my soul,

And as the red setting sun touched the sea they were one,

The epiphany consuming me whole.

Digging the sand for a number of years, I'd never observed the sea,

Fate cannot measure or define the great pleasure,

That awakened inside of me.

And now as I look it defines who I am, wild, impassioned and free

A child with a shell who survived their own hell,

At one with the raging sea.

Created with Night Café Creator Studio

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I have a collection of seashells that I've been collecting since childhood. Each one holds a precious memory that is part of me, but for all that, these little things continually remind me of the power of the ocean; the things we can see, and love, things that become part of us, but that we can never truly possess.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This was written for the Ode to the Ordinary challenge, linked below:

https://vocal.media/challenges/ode-to-ordinary

love poemsnature poetryinspirational
29

About the Creator

Veronica Coldiron

I'm a mild-mannered project accountant by day, a free-spirited writer, artist, singer/songwriter the rest of the time. Let's subscribe to each other! I'm excited to be in a community of writers and I'm looking forward to making friends!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Levinson6 months ago

    Beautiful poem, Veronica! Makes me yearn for Cape Cod, where we spend most of the summer, and whenever we can in the rest of the year.

  • This was beautiful well done

  • Shirley Belk7 months ago

    As an artist, when you can make your reader cry....well, you are great. I felt your pain and my own in this beautiful poem. Thank you!

  • Rachel Deeming7 months ago

    This is such a beautiful poem in so many ways - the picture I have of you as a little girl is warm but also tinged with sadness. I love seashells and have my own collection. I also love sea glass when I can find it. I like to wonder where it's come from.

  • Jordan Flynn8 months ago

    Well said, talk about she sells, sea shells by the shore am I right? Lol Jk, though I like you keep some. I also keep little rocks and use them as a “grateful rock.” Nice work

  • MecAsaf8 months ago

    Excellent work

  • This is like Magic ✨ ❤️😉📝👍💯 Great Job-

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    I love how much world you sit inside a sea shell.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    This was such a beautiful ode and sentiment to share with your readers Veronica! I love that each one holds a memory for you and I love the idea of looking back on them like a road map of how far you've come in life! Such a beautiful idea!

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    This was so evocative and powerful! Seashells are quite ordinary, and freely available along any seashore. Yet, in your collecting of them, they home past memories like hermit crabs. A gentle reminder of how far you’ve come. 🐚

  • Wonderful words and beautiful images

  • A child with a shell who survived their own hell, At one with the raging sea. These lines resonance so deeply with me! Such a gorgeous poem! I used to have a collection of seashells too but somehow I lost them 🥺

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Stunning piece, Veronica. I definitely felt the joy of the ordinary. Thank you. The last photo is amazing!!!!!! I want to hang it on my wall.

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Beautiful piece, Veronica. Well done.

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    gorgeous work Veronica! Thanks 4 sharing!

  • I love this beautiful poem.

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Brilliant & beautiful!!! Loved your line, "Their treasures untold so great to behold," Love this!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Beautifully penned and a wonderful story with a lesson. Well done, Veronica!

  • Heather Hubler9 months ago

    Loved that last line! This was so much more than seashells. Beautiful 🤩

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.