Poets logo

Kindred Spirits

“You, of course, are a rose– But were always a rose.” – Robert Frost

By Veronica ColdironPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
14
Created in Night Café Creator Studio

For my mother, the one who laughed and sang and danced with me... and loved me, though I didn't deserve it. My mother was so like a rose, beautiful and hearty, resilient and unique, and truly one of a kind.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I spy a pink rose

And my mind dips down

Into the pit of my very soul

The echo of you

Is in each new bud

In the wind and the sky and the road.

The song of you will

Live in me

Even when I’ve been long gone

For your life will not

Have been in vain

But will meet with me at dawn.

For you are the love

That does not fade

Like the pink of this new rose

And the love that dams

Me in by fate

That will hold off all my woes

I love you now

As I will do ever

Even if you did go home

And know that I

Will love you still

When I've left this skin and bone

Then you and I

Will be as we were

The two who are no more

With no pain to bear

Just the you and the me

That we had in the days of yore

heartbreaksad poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirational
14

About the Creator

Veronica Coldiron

I'm a mild-mannered project accountant by day, a free-spirited writer, artist, singer/songwriter the rest of the time. Let's subscribe to each other! I'm excited to be in a community of writers and I'm looking forward to making friends!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Moe Radosevich9 months ago

    Awesome tribute, nice piece of work my friend 😊

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    Wow, you did this with 4 letter words. Impressive and wonderful tribute to your momma. She sure is proud, walking by your side.

  • Harmony Kent9 months ago

    So beautiful and poignant, Veronica! 💕🙂

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Beautiful comparison!!! Loved this!!!

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Wow, I love everything about this. The comparison of your mother to a rose, and the memory a rose triggers. I especially love your outlook on the afterlife. How you said she went “home” and you’ll be reunited someday, free of pain. It made me think of how roses can only survive in summer, so home is that eternal garden. Very spiritual and beautiful.

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    sadly beautiful and a lovely tribute.

  • C. Rommial Butler10 months ago

    A lovely tribute! Of particular interest to me was the use of the word "dams" in this context. I took it, minus the "n", to indicate holding back the roaring waters of emotional grief, yet finding, as we so often do, the paradox: that in the exploration of our pain we discover a love unperishable which is our salvation. It inspired in me memories of reservoirs I have visited, surrounded by beautiful stretches of land, where butterflies and humans thrive together, living examples of human ingenuity leaving sanctity and sanctuary intact for a change!

  • Judey Kalchik 10 months ago

    Lovely and a tribute to her

  • Such a beautiful poem for your mom! Gotta agree with Lamar, it flowed so well despite the restrictions!

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    I love the loyalty in this one. ‘When I've left this skin and bone’ is beautifully heartfelt.

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    That felt so good. It flowed so well that I didn’t notice the four word restraint. Excellent entry, Veronica.

  • Test10 months ago

    Wow, incredible and so touching ❤️

  • Beautiful 💖📝😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.