Poets logo

Ask me in December

My tongue-in-cheek submission to Bab's Unofficial Challenge

By Katarzyna PopielPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
Image courtesy of AI

On New Year’s Day,

One Mr. Grey

Wanted to have my number.

He asked me this:

Will I be his?

What a cheek! Ask me in December.

***

As days grew long

His lust was strong,

His heart a glowing ember.

He promised the moon

If we went out in June.

I don’t know… Ask me in December!

***

This rainy fall,

Wrapped in my shawl

I tried to endure November.

He tried sweet talk

To loose my frock.

Are you mad? Ask me in December.

***

One winter day

Poor Mr. Grey

Told me it was December.

He wanted me

To answer him.

Answer what? I can’t remember.

***

Here is more about the challenge:

https://vocal.media/writers/ask-me-in-december

love poemshumorheartbreakFor Fun

About the Creator

Katarzyna Popiel

A translator, a writer. Two languages to reconcile, two countries called home.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Jay Kantor2 months ago

    Hi Kp - I'm so glad that I've just discovered your so gorgeous eclectic presentations. *I've subscribed with pleasure to see what you may come up with next. Thank you for coming to the defense of my longtime chum, Rachel Deeming. I'm not a writer as you are, just a retired legal professional; a simple storyteller to archive 'For the kids Someday.' I've just written my 1st poem "Llama & Koala"..it didn't flow out of me as yours seem to do so freely. I'm not into contests or self promotion. I just enjoy doing my own sketching and leading into my short stories that way. Nice to virtually meet you - I will be scrolling through your offerings. btw; so didja date the dude, then? Jk.in.la. Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community -

  • Denise E Lindquist2 months ago

    Great! I enjoyed your poem.😊💕Thank you ❤️

  • Christy Munson2 months ago

    Lovely!

  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    This is my favourite, and for someone who didn't like 50SoG, that's saying something 😁👍

  • TheSpinstress2 months ago

    Haha! Poor Mr Grey. 😁

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Super fun and loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

Katarzyna PopielWritten by Katarzyna Popiel

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.