Poets logo

Ode to Rain

Oh, we have failed you

By Brin J.Published 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
11
*unsplash* zenad-nabil

Rain

it is painfully unjust how some have come to loath you

they use umbrellas to reject your peppering kisses

run indoors to escape your cathartic touches

do they not understand the power you possess?

the miracles that you bring?

they fear your storms, as they should

for the weight you carry could cause floods

the ice you freeze could cause blizzards

yet those moments are few and far between,

as you choose to instead, nourish

believers claim that you are tears descending from heaven

cries from the untroubled souls grieving and raging at our ignorance

droplets of angel warriors avenging the barren landscapes that once flourished,

overtaken by demons of drought, seasons, and destruction

people seem to have this delusion that we are not responsible for how we perish

there were times when we once danced for your attention

sang songs for your downpour, and rejoiced when you answered

oh, how it must sadden you

to no longer be a thing of worship

we have failed you

one day, we will realize

one day, you will unleash your wrath

and when that time comes,

we will wish that we had chosen to drown in your essence than burn in our sins

surreal poetrynature poetry
11

About the Creator

Brin J.

I have a few stories and poems inside me that I want to share. Maybe, if I'm lucky, they'll reach people who'll enjoy them. 📖

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 9 months ago

    Great appreciation poem to rain. There's nothing like the smell of rain and the cozy sound of it hitting the roof. Well done

  • Dana is correct. I remember there was a time when I didn't love the rain--when it meant I couldn't go outside & play. But that was a long time ago. Whether it's for the farmers, our gardens or lawns, for its power, for its soothing/gentle caress, whether it's to watch it or glory in it, I have long loved the rain.

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Brin, this is beautiful and should have earned you a Top Story, in my opinion. You have a new subscriber. If I may offer a suggestion about something that doesn't detract in the least from the importance of this poem, the verb spelling is "loathe."

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    I am a lover of the rain. Comes with the territory of my homeland, Scotland. I have writtten a few about it, but this...this is a majestic masterpiece and I am sorry I missed it, Brin, when it was first published. So so so much was beautiful about this. Well bloody done.

  • Leslie Writes10 months ago

    I’ll never think of rain the same way again. Love it!

  • Alexander McEvoy10 months ago

    I love the rain! I love being in it, on a warm summer’s evening Or strolling through it on a chill autumn’s morning But my favourite, Yes the best of all, Is seated beneath an awning Watching it fall Tea by my side, Book in hand, Listening to sounds of fall

  • ema10 months ago

    This is remarkable! It's true how scared we are of such a natural and essential element for life. The end looks like a harbinger of a new great flood!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.