Poets logo

Ode to my bed; my sanctuary... my purgatory

comfort comes at a cost

By Brin J.Published 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 2 min read
6
*unsplash* krista-mangulson

There is no place more unencumbered for the mind to exist than within a bed, so the dreamers say

and I agree

You have always been there for me

From the moment I took my first breath, my life has always revolved around you

There is no morning I wake up wanting to leave your warm heaven,

and there is no night I'm hesitant to retire to your nocturnal lair

You are my sacred oasis, my divine retreat,

and when I'm tired of my reality

I always know that at the end of each day

you will be there for my escape

A soft hum that will lull me into a blissful slumber

A touch that will heal my weary bones

A scent that will lighten my burdened soul

I yearn for every gentle caress your doting blankets slip me

Every time I shut my eyes, you kiss me with plush cotton

I never fear the spell you cast when you put me into a deep sleep,

where the chances of me rising again are unknown,

as it would be the sweetest death

if I could die while peacefully dreaming in your folds

To paraphrase Napoleon's fond words,

I would not exchange you for any throne in the world

and that is the truth

Yet,

for all that you bless me with, you are also a curse

Somedays you are my salvation

I can find solitude in you and never feel alone

You offer relief where I can shed my troubles

A place where I can rest my heavy eyes, and devise a world that isn’t as dark

Other times, you provide a false sense of security and lure me into chaos

I get tangled in your sheets of silk

lose myself in the fabric of your terrors, trapped within your paralysis

Still,

I keep returning

I can never hold it against you

even when the despair feels so consuming that I'm unable to find peace,

and those days are becoming more common

Nevertheless, I'll surrender to your mercy

no matter what anguish awaits me

Oh, how loving you is a splendid form of torture

I cannot escape you, nor do I ever want to

If being in your embrace means comfort comes at a cost of nightmares,

then so be it

for there is no place on earth I'd rather be than buried in your familiar rapture

surreal poetrylove poems
6

About the Creator

Brin J.

I have a few stories and poems inside me that I want to share. Maybe, if I'm lucky, they'll reach people who'll enjoy them. 📖

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Kat Thorne10 months ago

    Love this!

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    Great choice, Brin. Written to perfection and that strong ending is…bliss!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Superbly expressed!!! Definitely relatable!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.