Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

The Final Day

A Dinosaur Poem

By Ethan Sutphin Published 24 days ago 1 min read
4
The Final Day
Photo by Amy-Leigh Barnard on Unsplash

My eyes scanned the plain as the sun began to rise high

Looking for something to eat, but not just for me

My son, daughter and Mate too so that they may not die

For I am Queen Rex, as all have come to see

I spotted an injured dinosaur that strayed too far away from its kind

I crouched down low, so that it may not see me until it's too late

It came closer and closer to me, something was on its mind

But I was hungry, and so was my mate.

Suddenly the injured dinosaur looked up and ran away

It was still too far away, so I gave up the hunt

But then a giant rock of fire flew across the day

It was so big; it made this Queen feel like a runt

The giant rock struck the ground with a loud crash

It caused the ground to splinter, crack and break

I knew it was trouble, so I took off in a quick dash

Yet I didn't know how much trouble one big rock would make

I ran as quick as I could over rocks and through the trees

Soon I was back with my family, roaring for them to run

My mate looked at me then at our kids that were at our knees

I knew there and then that our time was over and done

The fire from the giant rock was coming fast towards us

But me, my mate and my kids were all standing tall

The kids looked to us, and didn't even fuss

My mate put his head to mine and gave one final call

The fire came and hit us, ending our last day

Yet we remain in the ground and in people's mind

So these final words to you I will say

What other dinosaurs will you remember or find?

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Ethan Sutphin

Greetings all!!

My name is Ethan Sutphin and I am a amateur author when I am not crazy busy! My writing includes fantasy and science fiction taking inspiration from C.S Lewis and his Chronicles of Narnia series.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen23 days ago

    The last days must have been horrible. Yet extinctions are a part of our life cycle. When will our time be, I wonder. Great observations.

  • Manisha Dhalani23 days ago

    Wonderful writing!

  • This was so heartbreaking 🥺 Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.