Poets logo

Ode to Joy

Singing the praises of my favorite vessel

By Elizabeth BrownPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
2
Ode to Joy
Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

It's been a while since I've written any poetry so go easy on me. To be honest, I'm not even sure what I wrote constitutes as a poem...This is also the first time I've written anything "on command" and is far outside of my comfort zone. But that's the point of some of this, for me to get out of my head and do things that are uncomfortable....

I suppose the time has come for me to babble a bit in order to meet the community word count, so here we go. Poetry.... strangely enough I'm not a huge fan of poetry. I'll write it from time to time but usually cannot stand to read it. There are exceptions of course - Dante and Shakespeare. The macabre and the beautiful, two sides of the same coin and the story of my life. With that statement I'm reminded of Mr. Rogers - in times of turmoil look for the helpers. But I digress..... Let's babble about something that is mostly on topic to match this little ditty.

Did you know that coffee is as varied in flavor as wine? Once upon a time I worked for Starbucks and was working towards becoming a Coffee Master. I can hear some of you now, expressing your dislike of Starbucks coffee - it tastes burnt or it's too strong. To you I say this: go out on a limb, buy a small bag from the grocery store, take it home and brew it like you would any other bag of coffee. I guarantee it will taste far different - and much better - than the cup you buy at a Starbucks location. Still don't believe me? Then go to your local Starbucks and ask for a cup of coffee with an inch of hot water, then add whatever else you usually do.

Anyways - back to my point... coffee flavor varies depending on the region it's from and this knowledge applies to all brands of coffee. Latin American coffee is citrus-y with a crisp mouth feel, almost like a granny smith apple. This is my favorite kind of coffee to drink in the summer time as iced coffee. Brazilian tastes the best with some kind of fruit-y treat. African coffee is dark and heady and the most common descriptor is "earthy". Not earthy as in literal dirt, although to some that's what it tastes like. I mean earthy as in bitter dark chocolate. This is my favorite kind of coffee to drink in the winter months - cozy warmth in a cup.

Another determining factor in how the coffee tastes is the roast of the bean. The lightest is blonde roast and this is the most acidic. Acidity in coffee is akin to hops in beer and is also why some coffees linger - ya know, the ones that you taste every time you burp after drinking. Most Latin American coffee falls within the blonde to light roast category which lends to its acidity. Blonde/light roasts are also the most caffeinated - like alcohol, the longer coffee is "cooked" the more the less caffeine. At the opposite end of the spectrum you have dark roasts with one of the darkest being Espresso Roast. Dark roasts are the least acidic and highly recommended for people who struggle with heartburn. Dark roasts also tend to be less caffeinated with the absolute darkest roast being decaf coffee.

**************************************************************

You come in shapes and sizes, small to large;

You come in different colors, at the mercy of your charge;

Your contents are varied and refills limitless;

You do not judge;

You do not gossip;

You do not hate;

You are always kind;

Your presence is calming regardless of the time;

The perfect mother;

The perfect father;

The perfect sister;

The perfect brother;

My protector;

Your contents are electric;

More alive than I've ever been;

You, my beloved coffee cup;

Are my salvation.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Elizabeth Brown

I’m Elizabeth Brown and I write whatever comes to mind - erotica, fiction, erotic fiction, and so many others I haven’t even discovered. Care to explore just the tip?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    You're doing amazing work—keep it up,

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.