Poets logo

Ode to Coffee

That Caffeinated Elixir

By Dana StewartPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
21
Ode to Coffee
Photo by BRUNO CERVERA on Unsplash

A percolating aroma tickles my nostrils

After a measly four hours of sleep

Preset coffeemakers are certainly not a fossil

I rise, no need to count more sheep

In the kitchen you wait

A simple carafe of joe

My droopy eyes a hook to your bait

Search the cabinet for a mug, without you I’m….slow

You greet me with a gurgle

And perhaps a tiny spurt of steam

Over the pond they prefer tea – Earl Grey or maybe herbal

But I trust in your power to redeem

I add sugar, only a dash or two

In my cup first

Emails can wait a minute for review

Starting the day without you is the absolute worst

Next comes the creamer

With it’s off brand glory

I’m not a dreamer,

It’s French Vanilla, baby, if I get a Top Story

I relax and take a fruitful sip, sip, sip.

My morning ritual is complete

Everybody can just get a grip -

Tomorrow I’ll make a cup again - just like this, a repeat

humorsocial commentary
21

About the Creator

Dana Stewart

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    I've started putting a pot of coffee on in the morning. I like the smell better than the taste though!

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    So beautiful... ;)

  • Fantastic 😊 and I LOVE COFFEE ☕🌞

  • Leslie Writes9 months ago

    I am so addicted to the stuff. Cheers to this wonderful ode.

  • C. H. Richard9 months ago

    The perfect Ode to the perfect morning delight. Coffee is always there for me even on the rough mornings. Can not start the day without it. Love this ❤️

  • Gina C.9 months ago

    Oh, a wonderful ode to one of my most favorite things in the world. 😍 "Starting the day without you is the absolute worst" So, so true! So many relatable lines in here. You did a delicious job with this 🤗❤️

  • I don't know what I'd do without coffee! Loved your ode!

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Excellent! You chose a highly relatable subject and nailed it! I miss coffee, haven't had a cup in probably 8 years. For some strange reason, caffein gives me migraines so I had to give every form of it up. I still love the smell of it though and remember the time we had...lol.

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Love these stanzas! They are dope Dana! Awesome work my friend! Coffee Rocks!

  • Brin J.9 months ago

    Coffee definitely should get an ode for all it does bringing life back into us😅. I loved it. May your coffee be extra tasty tomorrow morning.

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    Guess I am the only not coffee not a fan here. I am a chocolate, hot cup of hot chocolate kinda person. Codffe smells great though. Enjoy your Joe Dana.

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    Yes, give me some. 🙂💓☕️☕️☕️☕️

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Dana, loving your ode to coffee!!! I am sure your coffee is good to the last drop!!! 💕❤️❤️

  • Jay Kantor9 months ago

    Dear Ms. Dana ~ You always seem to 'Percolate' me ~ Jay

  • Loving this enthusiastic piece 💯❤️💥😉📝❗

  • Okay, loved everything about this. Love coffee and it is my morning ritual and you nail the process head on, so much relate to this. Everything can wait! In addition to this being fantastic, my favorite part was "It’s French Vanilla, baby, if I get a Top Story" which made me chuckle. I hope this gets Top Story so you can enjoy some French Vanilla in the near future.

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Great job. Yay coffee!

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    I love me a good cup of black coffee. Good pick.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.