Poets logo

The Wizard of Oz

Haiku Book Review, challenge by Judey Kalchik

By Dana StewartPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
22
Image from Wikipedia

Tornado nightmare,

house smash, friends, yellow brick road

fraud wizard; click heels.

~

Trivia question? Do you know what Dorothy's last name is? answer at end of post

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz is a children's book written L. Frank Baum and illustrated by W.W. Denslow. Most of us know the iconic movie, where Judy Garland sings 'Somewhere over the rainbow'

For Judey Kalchik's unofficial Haiku Book Review challenge on her Facebook group The Medium Writers and Vocal Creators Support Group. Join the fun and write your own. Here's Judey's Haiku Book Review of Little Women.

Dorothy's (the girl swept up in the tornado out of Kansas) last name is Gale.

book reviews
22

About the Creator

Dana Stewart

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    I do love a spot of movie trivia, excellent way to sweeten the pot!

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Cool! I never got around to participating in that but it sure sounded like fun!!

  • Ooooo, I never knew Dorothy's last name! Thank you for that! Loved your Haiku-review!

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Great job, and no I didn't know Dorothy's last name.

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    Brilliant work here!

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    Well done 👏🏼 One of my favorites

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    There is no place like home, just follow the yellow brick road. Lovely. I have to find a book myself,

  • Chloe Gilholy9 months ago

    This haiku is brilliant. I loved the film, and was shocked and how different the book was.

  • Harmony Kent9 months ago

    I love the poems from this challenge! And you nailed it here. Made me chuckle too. Love it, Dana 💕🙂

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    I cannot stand this movie! I have tried watching it so many times, and I was never able to finish it. With that said, I really like your haiku. It sums up the story really well!

  • C. H. Richard9 months ago

    Another favorite movie. I have never read the book, but always looked forward to seeing the movie. You captured it's essence.♥️

  • Gina C.9 months ago

    Aw, I love this 🤗❤️ It's so perfect!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Dana, loved this!!! I am a big Wizard of Oz fan.

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    I love this. Sorry but I laughed at how simple but how perfect it is.

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    Love it 🥰

  • Heather Hubler9 months ago

    This was so good, Dana!! You packed it all in and it FELT like a tornado...how cool!! My daughter loved watching the movie version if this when she was younger :)

  • Judey Kalchik 9 months ago

    These classic illustrations are my favorites. You packed a LOT into these three lines! Great job!

  • J. S. Wade9 months ago

    Baum wrote 14 Oz books. Great review ! 🥰

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Wonderful work! The trivia question and song were a nice touch as well!😊 I hope that this makes TOP STORY! So good!

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    “Fraud wizard” lol love it !

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Awesome review! I loved the "click heels" at the end. Nice trivia question, I would have never guessed that her last name was Gale.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.