Poets logo

Ode to a Swing Set

1970's style

By Christy MunsonPublished 13 days ago Updated 11 days ago 2 min read
7
Ode to a Swing Set
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

I love your giant spider body

primordial metal insect rising from winter's thawing turf

textured paint peeling in haphazard segments:

salty oranges, rusty reds, whispered blues

cranky chain-link legs dangling from your thick tubular spine

black rubber straps as droopy seats

cement beneath our feet

//

I'm not smiling at the playground

until I run flat out to you

launch the pushing-pulling-pushing

kicking legs and yanking feet

dipping backwards

building speed

leaning back

into the seat

kick my feet and kick my feet

leaning forward once again

time to pull my small feet in

thrusting hard now

pulling Gs

I am flying ever faster

squeals of reckless, rowdy laughter

happy me!

oh, happy me!

long hair flowing

gently raking earth below

and here we're go!

weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

become a pendulum

my beloved swing and me

up and back

and up and back

each pass, a little longer

I can feel us growing stronger

my spidy senses tingling

now here comes that sound I’m seeking!

yes, a moaning groaning creaking

harrumphing! thumping! thumping!

baaaah-bump baaaah-bump baaaah-bumping

your perfect monster legs keep stomping

up

and down

and up

and down -- a massive suction hose!

slurping, burping earth, cement, and worms

when I hear that distant rumbling

then I know it’s time for jumping!

and suddenly I’m hovering in mid-air

til I'm falling

swiftly falling

fumbling bumbling quickly stalling

oh man, this is my jam—no, I’m not scared!

I'm awakened by the fear

and I know what to do next:

tuck myself up, knees to chest,

and I spill out one big mess

popping upright to my feet

climb your legs to take my seat

start this ride right by your side

where I long to be

my truest friend, you hear me say:

Hey, come on, I wanna play!

Again!

Again!

Again!

___________________________

Copyright © 04/18/2024 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

___________________________

For FunGratitudeFriendshipFree Versechildrens poetry
7

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Check out Welcome! for nav assist & Vocal creator recommendations.

Top Stories: 🥳

APR 2024 | APR 2024

MAR 2024 | MAR 2024 | MAR 2024 |

FEB 2024 |

JUN 2021

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • D.K. Shepard12 days ago

    The imagery in this is so strong! I could see it, hear it, feel it so clearly! Great ode to good old swings!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 days ago

    This was so great Christy, I love the feeling of nostalgia you were able to capture here!!

  • ema13 days ago

    Gorgeous poem! Childhood is a wonderful time, but if it happens I use the swing even now 😂

  • John Cox13 days ago

    Ode to a swing set! Your poem brings childhood back to wonderful throbbing life, Christy!

  • Gosh I wish I was a kid again, on the swing. That feeling is so blissful!

  • The picture is going with the context!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.