Poets logo

No Woman is an Island

Generational Prose

By S. C. AlmanzarPublished 2 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - March 2024
55
No Woman is an Island
Photo by Edward Howell on Unsplash

I take the light scarf from my bookcase and unfold it, the sun passing through the red roses and their green leaves that stretch across a black background.

It's dusting day, and it's time to clean this as well.

I fill a bowl in the kitchen sink with cool water and submerge the scarf. As I dunk and squeeze, the water becomes a deep, warm maroon.

I laugh, and look over at the kitchen table.

"You never washed this, did you, Grandma?"

The sun spills down from the open blinds and streaks across the empty chairs and a painting of two blue birds. All of this - the kitchen set, the painting, the scarf - all belonged to my maternal grandmother.

She crossed over last year, and still I speak aloud to her. She is there, I am sure of it, within the sparkling particles that dance in the air. A piece of her must be somewhere there within the table she sat at for so many years, within the painting that she saw and loved so much she just had to buy it. Even in this scarf that I am handwashing.

I can hear her chuckle and reply to my question, "No I didn't!"

But that's alright. Here I am now, letting the water darken deeper and deeper as I continue the process. It is a thin consistency, but it begins to look like blood. Not the sort that has leeched out in death, but rather the kind which sustains life.

I read many years ago how all of us were once in our maternal grandmother's wombs. When our mothers formed in utero, so too did their eggs that would one day become us. In this way, our grandmothers also carried each of us.

I think of that, of having been everywhere that my grandmother carried my mother. She had already had five children before that. Perhaps I am with her as she vacuums a hotel room, as she props her feet up on the couch with a cup of coffee, as she drives in the middle of the night, uncertain of where she is going, a cigarette between her fingers.

My paternal grandmother and her maternal grandmothers before her have existed in the bounds of California for millennia. The minerals in our bones are the same which make up the Sierra Nevada range, the same as the bones of the Tule elk which ran through the valleys, and as the pumas who lurk in the shadows.

California has cradled my ancestors, through and through, for generations, since time immemorial in some cases. Her rolling green hills, jagged mountaintops, sloping coasts; her behemoth trees which stretch towards the heavens, valleys which plunge so far downward they reach below sea level; her rich soil, the scorching embrace of a hot summer sun and the gentle caress of a springtime breeze; the acorns she drops from oaks, the snow that melts and rushes into roaring rivers for salmon to spawn and begin the cycle again - Grandmother.

She who came first, before my first female ancestor took a single step, she who is ancient and loving and vast and as mysterious as the dark side of the moon.

I think of all my grandmothers, and of how like the lunar goddess, they relied on two sides of themselves for survival. One to show the world, the other to keep her secrets, her desires, her very thoughts, all within a heavily guarded chest.

"I wanted to go to school." My great-grandmother smiles at me as we look over an old family album. In the photo, she is in her Sunday best, a smile almost as bright as the one she gives me now.

"That's all I wanted to do." She shrugs, her smile fading only slightly. "But I had to get married."

I wonder how much rage passed through the blood barrier within all of us while we grew in our mother's wombs. How much had flowed through them through their own mothers'.

It's not their fault.

The water in the bowl is at once deep and bright, red as rubies, as a dragon's scales. Red for life, red for anger.

"Grandmother,

Thank you for your rage. How sorry I am that you could do nothing with it the way that I can today."

Behind rage is enormous power, as grand and consuming as any sea.

I am angry

But I am free.

I give the scarf a final rinse, and pour the water down the drain.

Prose
55

About the Creator

S. C. Almanzar

I am a graduate student studying anthropology and have been writing creatively for almost 20 years. I love new takes on alternative history, especially when there are fantasy or supernatural elements included.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (34)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen26 days ago

    This is a beautifully written tribute to women, mothers, grandmothers and all who have felt the breath of ancestors as they speak through time. The voices ever echo. Congrats,

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    I love everything about this! Congratulations

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenlerabout a month ago

    S.C. this is a lovely tribute to all the women who came before us and were stopped from being everything they might have wanted to be but carried on with grace. Your grandma sounds amazing! Congrats on your win, too!

  • Jean McKinneyabout a month ago

    What a lovely story! Tender and powerful at the same time.

  • Christy Munsonabout a month ago

    Congratulations on your win! 🥳❤️👏

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    Very powerful.

  • ROCK about a month ago

    Congratulations! So well deserved. I subscribed! Yay!!!!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Wooohooooo congratulations on your win! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Alyssa Nicoleabout a month ago

    Back to say congratulations on your first-place win! 🎉 Not surprising given how beautiful this piece is!

  • Lily Séjorabout a month ago

    I love the connection of the line of women with the land, as if it too is a part of the ancestry! <3 PS. I also think about how we were already there in our grandmother's womb at some point. It's fascinating.

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Fabulous & congratulations on the win!!!🥰

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Congratulations on a wonderful story!!

  • D.K. Shepardabout a month ago

    Stunning! Congratulations on your win! It is well-deserved.

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    This is incredible, definitely one of my faves. Congrats on the win.

  • Dana Crandellabout a month ago

    Congratulations on your win!

  • Judey Kalchik about a month ago

    Once I had grandchildren I discovered the concept that I had actually always had them, carried them with me as I carried their mothers: next to my heart. Wonderful story.

  • Oneg In The Arctic2 months ago

    This is so beautifully articulated- both past and present and future. I love how you still talk to her

  • Antoni Nima2 months ago

    Nice work!

  • Farhat Naseem2 months ago

    great job

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Eiman Asif2 months ago

    A beautiful and lovely piece to read again and again...💝 A great tribute to grandmothers 👵 Nicely written💕 Congratulations for top story .

  • This was such a wonderful tribute! Congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • A. J. Schoenfeld2 months ago

    Such a well written story. I love how the mundane task of washing a scarf propelled you down a rabbit hole of admiration and gratitude for all your grandmothers. I have had that experience many times doing tasks I learned at the side of my own Grandmother.

  • F. Leonora Solomon2 months ago

    this has so much gorgeous imagery SC, i love the how the redness changed as she washed the scarf

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.