Poets logo

Dalliance

Star-crossed enemies to lovers

By S. C. AlmanzarPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1
Dalliance
Photo by Marcy Leechgrave on Unsplash

Aureate eyes meet mine for a flash, the gold frozen, cryptic and yet

Blended with sun rays too bright to behold

Crisp mornings beside the ocean with our tea cups in hand

Dawn treading over deep and endless waters in shades of amber

Elysian moments like these are fleeting as swift as the

Flocks of gulls that parade over the cliffsides

Guarded like a dragon who curls a fist around his horde

He will not utter a word to me, eyes locked on the horizon

Icarus was punished for daring to touch the sun, but at least he dared

Justify your sudden change and confess to me, beloved

Kiss me as you would, as you have daydreamed in vivid technicolor

Lovely-eyed demigod who has hardly grazed paradise

Melancholy glaze on a stoic façade will chip like a clear coat on quartz

Nectar of the heavens as sweet as the first fruits of summer, why deny?

October has come, the equinox behind us and the solstice growing near

Partake in this one delight with me before we are doomed by the crossroad

Querulously have we spoken with each other in the past, but forgive me of

Retaliating so fiercely; you've proven my match over the years

Synodic timing missed us in the grand scheme of it all

Trust me to be your safe haven for at least another night

Unraveled and laid bare, here we are within the other's grasp

Valor in the face of the unknown and the separate fates which await us

Wrath of the gods, rain down on me; I'll reconcile one day

Xenon phantoms within my soul, whispers that press me forward

Ya'aburnee - you bury me, and I am tangled there within your marrow

Zephyrean wind, be merciful, and carry us home unscathed.

heartbreaklove poems
1

About the Creator

S. C. Almanzar

I am a graduate student studying anthropology and have been writing creatively for almost 20 years. I love new takes on alternative history, especially when there are fantasy or supernatural elements included.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.