Poets logo

Night Magic for Believers

Retain your wonder

By Judey Kalchik Published 4 months ago 2 min read
11
https://pixabay.com/users/analogicus-8164369/

I officiated the wedding.

The bride was lovely

(her wedding dress had pockets! How cool is that!?)

the groom’s eyes shined when he looked at her.

`

People got a little teary

as they read their vows to each other.

The room was filled with friends and family.

The love and support was so present

it brushed against your skin

and thrummed in your ears.

`

As evening came, a small fountain-

lit amber and gold-

could be seen just outside the reception windows.

The water glittered and trembled,

a small set of lights making it shine the brighter

as the night grew darker.

`

Several children were at the wedding and,

as children do,

they were drawn to the fountain.

A small pathway of flagstones

set into the small garden

let them stand right at the edge.

`

They danced.

Throwing their arms up and out,

they leaped alongside the water.

Bright and ruffled dresses blew about them.

Curls tossed.

Eyes closed, they swayed about.

`

They posed for pictures.

They circled the small pond.

like moths they drew close,

retreated,

came back for more.

`

I went outside and watched.

The glittering sparkling water made

just a small shussshhhing noise as it rose and fell.

`

The smallest little girl

stood by me and we looked quietly for a moment.

I asked her “isn’t is beautiful?”

She solemnly nodded

said she’d never seen anything like it in her whole life.

All 7 years?” I asked.

Again she nodded.

`

I reached out my hand

touched the falling spray, then drew it back.

I laughed and told her “look- my hands aren’t sparkly!

She gave me a sideways glance

It’s just water. It’s not magic.’

`

Maybe not.

But for just a moment

it was magical enough

for both of us.

~~~

Comments always welcomed!

love poems
11

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • J. Delaney-Howe4 months ago

    Magical and sweet. Nice work.

  • Jay Kantor4 months ago

    Hi 'j' ~ I will 'Shush' in just a 'Moment'...Had no idea you were a wedding-er (for lack of a more appropriate expression) Such a lovely piece - But, it wouldn't be me, if I didn't say I haven't seen anything like that Gold-Thing in 'all' of my life. 'j'-bud

  • Awww, this was absolutely wonderful!

  • JBaz4 months ago

    This is wonderful. A magical tale in real life, there is if we look.

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    Magic is in the eye of the beholder and always in children :)

  • Sheila L. Chingwa4 months ago

    What a nice read! I believe in magic!

  • Don't you know, Judey? Water is never just water. There's always something magical about it--wonderful & dangerous & refreshing & cleansing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.