Poets logo

New Form of Poetry for Me

An Irish form, the breccbairdne

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 months ago β€’ 1 min read
7
New Form of Poetry for Me
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ on Unsplash

The breccbairdne is an Irish quatrain form. Here are the basic guidelines: Quatrain (or four-line stanza) form. Five syllables in the first line; six syllables in the other three lines. Each line ends with a two-syllable word. Lines two and four rhyme. All end words consonate.

Quick note: Consonance is the act of repeating consonant sounds. by Robert Lee Brewer

My attempt at a breccbairdne:

Mother the baker

The candlestick maker

The only rule-breaker

She was a drug taker

~~

Best and fresh pastry

Could have a bakery

delish and savory

could be unsavory

~~

I was a witness

unsavory people

takeaway from business

scare away, laypeople.

(Note on my example: I rhymed a lot more frequently than is required by this form. Remember that you only "need" to rhyme the second and fourth line of each stanza.)

performance poetryhow toFor Fun
7

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    Oh wow, I can't even pronounce the name of this form hahahaha. Loved your poem!

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    Great rhythm!

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Excellent performance poem!!! Loving it!!!β€οΈβ€οΈπŸ’•

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.