Poets logo

Homemade Bread Snacks

I grew up with a mother that had snacks every day after school.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
6
Homemade Bread Snacks
Photo by Kate Mishchankova on Unsplash

It was difficult to pick a favorite snack for me

I called a brother and talked to my hubby

It appeared easy for them as it was clearly

Home-made bread that they both loved dearly

But what in the world was mine?

I couldn't say ain't that just fine

What snack is mine was my favorite line!

~

Growing up with 5 sibling,

brothers seemed to be always nibbling!

there is not always enough

food to go around and stuff

doesn't always look that good

when growing up in the hood

and when poor

you can't always afford the store

What snack is mine was my favorite line!

~~

Sometimes my favorite was toast, I loved to dine

with lard and parmesan! I thought that snack was from heaven

Then homemade ice cream, was a treat, around seven

One of my favorite snacks was cinnamon and sugar on toast.

I thought that was better than roast!

And we probably had that the most.

What snack is mine was my favorite line!

~~~~~~~~

The Bop, which is a poetic form that was developed by poet Afaa Michael Weaver at a Cave Canem summer retreat.

Here are the basic rules for The Bop: 3 stanzas

Each stanza is followed by a refrain

First stanza is 6 lines long and presents a problem

Second stanza is 8 lines long and explores or expands the problem

Third stanza is 6 lines long and either presents a solution or documents the failed attempt to resolve the problem

The Bop information from Robert Lee Brewer

For FunFree VerseFamily
6

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    Oh I've never heard of the Bop before. Very well done. And mmmm, toast!

  • Mariann Carroll2 months ago

    I love this rhyming poem. It made me hungry for bread. I love eating bread. Peanut Butter is a treat for me.

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Sugar cinnamon toast, homemade break, and homemade ice cream brings back childhood memories!!! Loved it!!!

  • Homemade ice cream and Parmesan! A pot noodle was considered the ultimate rare ‘luxury’ in my hood 🥲 Nice poem Denise 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.