Poets logo

Half

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 12 days ago 1 min read
4
Half
Photo by Lukas Kyzur on Unsplash

half a lot is more than nothing

I am always half of nothing
I am always dreaming of aortic destabilization
My blood spilling out like a fountain to your attention

No not attention

Half the time, half the pleasure and nothing to show for it

The half measures and half meetings of the people I care about more than 1 1/2 double over

Free the first part and cut me in half

You cut me in half and then

Cut us before I could feel the individual blow. blow up

The fire settles at the bottom, crackling at my feet

I kissed her long and hard in the warm summer night, in the pool we dipped half way

heartbreak
4

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran11 days ago

    Gosh this was so intense and emotional! I loved it so much!

  • Ameer Bibi12 days ago

    Your story uses basic language to express deep emotions, making it relatable and powerful. The repetition of "half" emphasizes a sense of incompleteness, while imagery like the warm summer night and the pool adds richness to the narrative. Amazing story

  • Wow! Intense. Must have been one heck of a kiss!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.