Poets logo

Poem a Day in February

I put together a chapbook for each of the winning authors and honorable mentions.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 2 min read
7
Poem a Day in February
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

February is a fun month for me! I started a Poem a Day in February (PaDiF) eight years ago. I have regulars that join in each year and a few new people each year as well. The last poem/rhyme contest was on Nature and there were 43 entries in that 6 days. It was tough to judge.

For the nature contest, the winning poets received a T-shirt with PaDiF or a rhyme on the T-shirt. Something fun. These T-shirts came from one of the regular participants.

PaDiF was started so that I could get better at rhyming. I continue to rhyme more than anything else. Each year I have introduced different poetry formats. This year I didn't do that but again a couple of the regulars did that!

So cool how this has evolved. This year one of the regular participants wrote a poetry book this month to enter into a contest that I sent out to everyone. She didn't say anything until she was finished with the book and ready for print.

That is so exciting. She placed in all 4 of the contests. The judges liked her writing.

I write too. Two or three times each day in February and I continue to write for both Vocal and Medium during this month also. Sometimes I write about the contests and the winners and sometimes it is to post a poem or rhyme.

I thought I would add one of my free verse rhymes along with a photo I took on the night of the full moon or maybe the second or third night of the full moon!

Authors photo

A full moon showed up tonight

It lit up the sky, it was bright

It was that way last night

Hubby said, didn't you see it?

No, I didn't, and such a shame. Here I sit

to think about it. I wonder who is affected

it seems to always be someone. I know I can be effected.

We were just talking about the crowds everywhere we went

and places we drove by. Some will be sent

to hospitals and jails and some may be home in bed.

Hopefully, no one ends up dead.

~~~~

nature poetrysocial commentaryFree Verse
7

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    Or maybe everyone would end up dead! Hahahahahahahhaha! Sorry couldn't help myself!

  • sleepy drafts2 months ago

    This is such a great idea for a February writing challenge, and your poem is so beautiful. It's so true - some of the strangest things happen when there's a full moon out.

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    There are recent "scientific" studies out about the power of the moon over emotions. They seem to debunk the theory of the correlation between more homicides and suicides with a full moon. But, I can tell you, that in my years as a nurse, on full moons we all knew it was gonna get wild. I have to go with the truth of my gut and experience on this one.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.