Poets logo

Never "Just a writer"

Rant, rumble, inspiration, motivation and encouragement

By Paul StewartPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
14
Never "Just a writer"
Photo by Marcos Paulo Prado on Unsplash

When creativity strikes

And your pen hits the paper

or

you fill the blank screen

With

those thoughts

those ideas

those emotions

those opinions

you've quietly

laboured over

developed

honed

finetuned

until they are more

than

just a collection

of syllables

of letters

of words

of phrases, sentences and more

They have power

to create

to destroy

to encourage

to discourage

When you harness

that creativity

that force

that unique voice

that burning desire

The phrase

"just a writer"

is nothing

more than

a lie

a disservice

a downplay

an insult

If you

put

your heart, soul, time and skill

into

crafting the written word

creating spellbinding verse

world-building, character development and storytelling

transferring yourself intravenously

to paper or screen

There is no such thing

as

"just a writer"

You are never

"just a writer"

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: I really don't think I need to back the above up. I think, whether you do it as a hobby or for something more, it's important you remember that the dismissive phrase "just a write" is just not true.

But, rather than just taking my word for it, let's look to people better than me, to give extra weight to my point.

  • "You can make anything by writing." - C.S. Lewis
  • “Writing is the painting of the voice.” - Voltaire
  • “I know nothing in the world that has as much power as a word. Sometimes I write one, and look at it, until it shines.” - Emily Dickinson
  • “A writer is someone for whom writing is more difficult than it is for other people.” -Thomas Mann
  • “Sometimes I write better than I can.” - Ernest Hemingway
  • "I can shake off everything as I write; my sorrows disappear, my courage is reborn." - Anne Frank

You are never "just a writer".

performance poetrysocial commentaryinspirational
14

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Enjoyed this one a lot ! As well as the cool quotes at the end. ☺️✍️

  • Whoaaaaa. This really puts things into perspective. Your poem was so powerful. Voltaire's quote was my favourite. But I beg to differ with Emily Dickinson. The more I look at a word I write or any other word for that matter, it just gets weirder and loses its meaning. Lol. I hope you get what I mean. Loved your poem!

  • The question for me (as it is for so many), do I even qualify as that much?

  • Karissa E.L. Cuff6 months ago

    so true and encouraging

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    I feel like there's a different way to frame this phrase, the extraordinary from the ordinary, but I not long got in from work and my brain can't quite...you know...string a thought together.

  • Sara 6 months ago

    I love how you always have so much positivity and inspiration to share. Thank you!

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    Very Inspirational!!!!!!

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Thanks for the note of encouragement. Nicely done.

  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    What, now I gotta' assume responsibility for what I put out there? I thought this writing thing was gonna' be a lot easier! I jest, pal. but you know that. Very well said, sir!

  • Kendall Defoe 6 months ago

    All true.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.