Poets logo

My Senses Reel with Spice

A Christmas baking villanelle

By Rachel DeemingPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
My Senses Reel with Spice
Photo by Jonathan Farber on Unsplash

I've never written a villanelle before. It might not be something that I rush to do again. However, the smells from my kitchen this afternoon after a Christmas baking marathon were an inspiration as was a perusal of the works of famous Welsh poet, Dylan Thomas and so here, immortalised in stringent poetic form is my sensory experience from preparing to fruition as I created traditional Christmas fayre for this festive period.

***

Warmed by the bake, my senses reel with spice,

Woven into the air like spun sugar.

The fruitiness of plenty smells so nice.

*

Buttery sweetness mixed and held on ice

Ready for rolling, filling from the jar.

Warmed by the bake, my senses reel with spice.

*

On trays, like golden cobbles, stacked mince pies.

Puddings in sealed basins steam and swelter.

The fruitiness of plenty smells so nice.

*

Powder-coated treats do more than suffice;

They topple and wrestle on the counter.

Warmed by the bake my senses reel with spice.

*

Dense and rich, cakes ready for the splice:

Brandy moisture hits my skin like a spa.

The fruitiness of plenty smells so nice.

*

Taste buds squeal and plead to have a slice

Held back until 25th December

Warmed by the bake, my senses reel with spice

The fruitiness of plenty smells so nice.

***

Check out Dylan Thomas' wonderful villanelle here, called Do Not Go Gentle into that Good Night:

Thank you for stopping by. If you do read this, please leave a comment as I do like to interact with my readers.

inspirationalperformance poetrylove poemsHoliday

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Joe O’Connor5 months ago

    The Christmas baking imagery is everywhere and it makes for such a sensory read! “On trays, like golden cobbles, stacked mince pies” is a great line.

  • Real Poetic6 months ago

    I think you did absolutely amazing for your first try! Thanks for sharing.

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Mmm “my senses reel with spice”… I love spices too! Great work ! 👍 Looking forward to making my gingerbread soon..although I did say that last year; THIS year it’s going to happen! 😁

  • Mmmm, that smells soooo good! I'm so hungry now, lol. Loved your Villanelle!

  • Shirley Belk6 months ago

    I can smell the baking from here....great job!

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    Ooh, think you nailed that.

  • Joe Patterson6 months ago

    You’ve done very well for your first attempt.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Beautiful piece. I can smell your words.

  • Test6 months ago

    So lovely x You completely captured the essence of Christmas. Love the way the senses weaved through. I find myself wanting a minced pie rather badly even though i know I don't like them! 🤍

Rachel DeemingWritten by Rachel Deeming

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.