Poets logo

My Place of Happy

Enjoy in Moderation

By Amy HallPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
11
My Place of Happy
Photo by Rhema Kallianpur on Unsplash

I’m deep within my bed and the world can wait,

Until I am in a better state.

Under these blankets, wrapped up like a sausage,

Everything else makes me feel like a hostage.

It is here in my place of happy, I am calm and collected; where I can finally let go,

Scream, cry or laugh while hugging my pillow.

I dream of this place with my eyes open wide,

A sanctuary to crawl in and hide.

The world outside can be callus with dismay,

But here in this safe haven, I can pray.

For a place out there, in this world,

Where I can feel content, but instead my emotions are twirled.

No one can take this comfort from me,

A spot where I can just truly be.

Walking through Earth with a blunder,

This place is full of dreams and great wonder.

There’s a fine line between comfort and depression,

With this I share a hard-learned lesson.

We are not meant to simmer in solace,

Remember that life isn’t meant to be flawless.

We are destined to grow within our despair and discontent,

It is here we find for us, what is meant.

We cannot stay in our beds or hide in our place of security,

Only outside of this box, do we find maturity.

With your back against a wall, is the moment you grow,

Reach your potential wherever you go.

Wrap yourself in this blanket and heal,

Then get out there and become what you are; a big deal.

inspirational
11

About the Creator

Amy Hall

I have written since a little girl. With love for story telling, I was eager to learn how to write, so I could piolet my own adventures! I finally am pursuing as a career but have no idea where to start! Consider subscribing! Enjoy!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    This is so good, it earned a sub from me. If I could, I would subscribe twice!

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    This is beautifully written and so relatable! I have had times where I wished I could actually hibernate so I could stay in my bed, but real life didn’t allow it, unfortunately. Well done!

  • JoAnn Ryan2 years ago

    Great poem! The comfort of being home in bed is ideal but can't stay there forever can we? Gotta get out in the world. 🙂

  • Mhairi Campbell 2 years ago

    Really lovely poem - very relatable

  • Clyde E. Dawkins2 years ago

    A very beautiful poem!!

  • Brenton F2 years ago

    My thoughts exactly! The bed is both castle and throne and has the ability to soothe the baddest mood! You have summed it up so well!

  • The Dani Writer2 years ago

    My favourite line was the one that drew me in, "I’m deep within my bed and the world can wait, until I am in a better state." That resonates fully with me. Yes, make the world wait.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.