Poets logo

The Meaning of Life

A conversation with myself

By Amy HallPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
13

My place in this world, I don’t think anyone knows.

Depends how the flower grows.

It’s time for many pleasures, hardships, and woes.

It starts with a seed, a spark and a light.

Fight on little flower, with all of your might!

Light that torch if your path is not fully bright!

I am but one blossom in a meadow of Dandelions who are fighting to stay.

With mountains to climb and oceans to slay.

Will I grow as strong and as proud as they?

Each one insignificant considering the vastness of Earth.

Each one remarkable since the moment of birth.

Stretch out that stem and show them your girth.

In this world, you will be celebrated, held up or harassed.

Just ensure little flower, you are never surpassed.

As lessons are learned and knowledge is passed.

I will continue my journey upon the top of this rock in the sun.

Craving to be at peace when my last day is done.

Your lessons, little flower, have only just begun.

Other blooms in your pot; they will pry and they’ll test.

Passing from old onto young, but who really knows best?

My advice little flower, is to live a life that’s worth living and forget all the rest.

Comparing yourself again and again to every flower of the field.

Questioning what your life’s garden will yield.

Asking if fate exists and if it’s ever truly sealed?

I will rip up my roots and stroll away for awhile!

Will I live a life I can look back on and smile?

Some aspects of living in this world will cause you tribulations at trial.

Some will feel like a flood and other times just a drizzle.

The Earth too will flourish but then it will fizzle.

You will change your surroundings with your acceptance or dismissal.

When conditions are most plentiful, you will be on your way.

You will be who you are and you grow as you may.

You will continue to flourish with each passing day.

Behind we will leave just memories and dust.

Remember to hand down peace, love and trust.

Step a part from the pack with an Earth-shattering thrust.

Be a Rose in a meadow of Dandelions, stand tall and stand proud.

Be tough and be fearless among the crowd.

Even on the days you get more than you have allowed.

My place in this world I have yet to solve.

That too shall be clear before I dissolve.

Fear not little flower, your journey will evolve.

inspirational
13

About the Creator

Amy Hall

I have written since a little girl. With love for story telling, I was eager to learn how to write, so I could piolet my own adventures! I finally am pursuing as a career but have no idea where to start! Consider subscribing! Enjoy!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist2 years ago

    Enjoyed the read, hearted and subscribed 💕

  • This was lovely. I am happy to follow your journey. Thank you

  • SJ Covey2 years ago

    Hi Amy, I’ve hearted and subscribed. Your writing is excellent, what a carefully imagined piece with great imagery. I look forward to following your vocal journey

  • This is awesome. You certainly have an excellent way with words Amy.

  • Whoaaaaa! This was so powerful and uplifting! You have a very beautiful way with words and I love the imageries that you've used. I've hearted this and subscribed to you as well! 💖

  • River Seear2 years ago

    Beautiful. Loved it!! Thank you for sharing!

  • Sidney Smith2 years ago

    Beautiful!

  • Chandra Bankston2 years ago

    I am like that little flower too The earth has room for me and you And every flower has its own point of view This is my way of saying I love your poem🌹

  • Kendall Defoe 2 years ago

    Impressive work!

  • Deasun T. Smyth2 years ago

    great poem, and inspirational!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.